Quick links: Rugby Video | Six Nations Rugby | Premiership Rugby | LV= Cup | Rugby Championship | Heineken Cup Rugby | Pro 12 Rugby | Super Rugby | Currie Cup Rugby | Rugby World Cup

Rampant bonus point Leicester smash Ospreys

Toby Flood breaks through on his way to the tryline

Email Article | | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet

Article Published: Sunday 21 October 2012

Leicester Tigers were rampant as they secured a bonus point 39-22 ictory over the Ospreys in Heineken Cup Pool 2 at Welford Road.

Leicester lost away to Toulouse last weekend but bounced back with style after a shaky start which saw the Ospreys go out to a 0-10 lead.

The Tigers drew level at half time and the teams were level until the 67th minute when Toby Flood knocked over his fourth penalty.

Leicester then opened up and were rampant in the last nine minutes as they scored three late tries to earn the bonus point.

Tryscorer Ben Youngs was named Heineken Cup man of the match which keeps the pressure on Harlequins Danny Care for England selection next month.

Toby Flood produced a No 10 master class to revive Leicester Tigers' Pool 2 challenge and leave the Ospreys still searching for their first Welford Road success.

The Ospreys managed a draw three years ago but this time the Tigers finished with a real flourish for what was ultimately an emphatic win that keeps the group boiling over.

Flood pulled the strings from start to finish and scored a long range interception try and kicked magnificently for a 24-points haul with Manu Tuilagi snatching the bonus point with just second remaining.

Flanker Ryan Jones - rejuvenated for both club and country - pounced for an opportunist second minute try, forcing his way over from close range, to stun the Tigers faithful.

Outside half Dan Biggar converted and when he added a 12th minute penalty goal the home side were 10 points adrift thanks to a whirlwind Ospreys start.

But the Tigers, who have now won 18 and drawn two of their last 20 tournament matches at "Fortress Welford," are always inspired by playing in front of their home crowd and that happened again.

Great work by half backs Ben Youngs and Flood created the space for Tuilagi to stroll over for his first with Flood levelling matters before half time with a penalty and the conversion.

And the Ospreys were not helped with prop Ryan Bevington dispatched to the sin bin by French referee Romain Poite for persistent scrum infringements.

Biggar and Flood exchanged further penalties before Youngs had the Ospreys' alarm bells working overtime as he raced away from an unprotected line-out on a glorious sole run.

A try looked on but the Ospreys regrouped and wing Eli Walker cleared although Flood was on target with a third penalty to kick the Tigers ahead for the first time after 50 minutes.

He landed another as the Ospreys came under pressure, particularly at the line-out, only for Biggar to first cut the deficit with a well struck angled penalty and then level matters yet again with his fourth success.

But then Flood enjoyed a magnificent purple period that took the game - and hopes of at least a bonus point - away from the Ospreys. Part 1 was a 58 metre penalty smack on target.

Part 2 was the interception of Biggar's intended pass and a long run for the line for a try he converted himself.

Biggar did respond with another penalty but Youngs cashed in following a lucky bounce for a third Tigers try and Tuilagi got his second and the Tigers' fourth with less than a minute on the clock to take all five points.

Final Score Leicester 39 (10) Ospreys 22 (10)


Leicester Tigers
Tries: Tuilagi 2, Flood, Youngs
Penalties: Flood 4, Crane
Conversions: Flood 2

Tries: Jones
Penalties: Biggar 5
Conversions: Biggar

Match Officials
: Romain Poite (Fra),
Assistant ref: Cedric Marchat,
Assistant ref: Eric Soulan,
TMO: Bernard Dal Maso,
Citing Commissioner: Murray Whyte


Leicester Tigers: Scott Hamilton; Niall Morris, Manu Tuilagi, Anthony Allen, Vereniki Goneva; Toby Flood, Ben Youngs; Logovi'i Mulipola, Tom Youngs, Dan Cole, Graham Kitchener, Geoff Parling, Steve Mafi, Thomas Waldrom, Jordan Crane (c).

Replacements: George Chuter, Marcos Ivan Ayerza, Martin Castrogiovanni, Louis Deacon, Richard Thorpe, Sam Harrison, George Ford, Matt Smith.

Ospreys: Richard Fussell; Hanno Dirksen, Andrew Bishop, Ashley Beck, Eli Walker; Dan Biggar, Kahn Fotuali'I; Ryan Bevington, Richard Hibbard, Adam Jones, Alun Wyn Jones (c), Ian Evans, Ryan Jones, Justin Tipuric, Jonathan Thomas.

Replacements: Matthew Dwyer, Duncan Jones, Aaron Jarvis, George Stowers, Joe Bearman, Rhys Webb, Matthew Morgan, Thomas Isaacs.

With thanks to ERCRugby.

Heineken Cup Rugby News
Toulon start title defence with Scarlets victory
Toulon kicked off their bid for a third successive European Rugby title with a 28-18 victory over Welsh side Scarlets in the Rugby Champions Cup
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Leinster come from behind to beat Wasps
Leicester Tigers halt losing streak to Ulster
Racing Metro deny Saints a losing bonus point

More Heineken Cup Rugby News

Aviva Premiership
Steffon Armitage move to England ruled out
Bath head coach Mike Ford as well as Toulon head coach Bernard Laporte have both said that the deal to move former England flanker Steffon Armitage from France to English Premiership side Bath is "dead".
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Wasps confirm first home match at Ricoh Arena
Armitage could return to England in time for RWC
Wasps put week of turmoil behind them to beat Bath

More Aviva Premiership News

Anglo Welsh Cup News
Anglo Welsh LV= Cup fixtures updated
Following the announcement of the 2014/15 LV= Cup fixtures on July 25, the Welsh Regions, WRU, Premiership Rugby , RFU and LV= Organising Committee have come to an agreement regarding the arrangement of Round 1 fixtures for the Welsh Regions, which clash with the Guinness Pro 12 Round 7.
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Exeter Chiefs beat Saints to win LV Cup
Exeter vs Northampton LV= Cup final preview
Exeter book LV Cup final against Northampton

More Anglo Welsh Cup News

Six Nations Rugby
Under fire Johnson gets backing from bosses
Scottish Rugby Union chief executive Mark Dodson has denied claims that Scott Johnson has been rewarded for failure after Scotland's miserable 2014 Six Nations campaign.
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
England's Brown wins Six Nations best player
Scotland fullback Hogg gets three week ban
Warburton to be out of action for 'several months'

More Six Nations Rugby News

Rugby Week Sponsor
Heineken Cup Video Highlights