Quick links: Rugby Video | Six Nations Rugby | Premiership Rugby | LV= Cup | Rugby Championship | Heineken Cup Rugby | Pro 12 Rugby | Super Rugby | Currie Cup Rugby | Rugby World Cup

Munster give Edinburgh Euro Cup knockout blow

Paul O'Connell's Munster are back on track

Email Article | | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet

Article Published: Sunday 21 October 2012

Munster recovered from their loss last week to Racing with a comprehensive 33-0 Heineken Cup Pool 1 victory over Edinburgh at Thomond Park.

While Munster were always in control of the match they left it until the death to secure the bonus point try which was scored by Damien Varley.

The result leaves Edinburgh's Heineken Cup season in tatters as they have lost both of their opening fixtures and having lost 45-0 last weekend to Saracens they have yet to score a point this season.

In Munster's Thomond Park fortress, Edinburgh were put to the sword for the second week running.

Ian Keatley, deputising for the injured Ronan O'Gara at fly-half, marshalled things well and kicked 13 points (three penalties, two conversions), with the four second-half tries handing the Irish province a winning bonus point.

Scrum-half Conor Murray crossed for the first, opportunist, try, darting from the back of a ruck to cross under a mass of bodies.

Impressive No 8 Peter O'Mahoney notched up Munster's second, rolling over after a well-executed maul from a line-out, flanker Sean Dougall crossing almost immediately after, thanks to a Paddy Butler break and good backing up by Keatley.

With Edinburgh in disarray, replacement hooker Damien Varley then crossed, again from a smart line-out move, to ensure the extra point and deepen the concerns of Michael Bradley, coach of the Scottish region.

Final Score Heineken Cup: Munster (6) 33 Edinburgh (0) 0


Tries: Murray, O'Mahony, Dougall, Varley
Cons: Keatley 2
Pens: Keatley 3


Match Officials
: Wayne Barnes (Eng),
Assistant ref: Tim Wigglesworth,
Assistant ref: Paul Dix,
TMO: Geoff Warren,
Citing Commissioner: John Byett


Munster Rugby: Denis Hurley; Doug Howlett (c), Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha, Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell, Donnacha Ryan, Sean Dougall, Peter O'Mahony.

Replacements: Damien Varley, Marcus Horan, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, Patrick Butler, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Felix Jones.

Edinburgh Rugby: Greig Tonks; Lee Jones, Nick De Luca, Ben Atiga, Tim Visser; Gregor Hunter, Richie Rees; John Yapp, Ross Ford, Geoff Cross, Grant Gilchrist, Sean Cox (c), Dave Denton, Stuart McInally, Netani Talei.

Replacements: Andy Titterrell, Robin Hislop, WP Nel, Robert McAlpine, Dimitri Basilaia, Chris Leck, Matthew Scott, Tom Brown.

Heineken Cup Rugby News
Aviva Premiership
Anglo Welsh Cup News
Franklin's Gardens to host Anglo Welsh LV Cup final
Northampton Saints home ground of Franklin's Gardens has been chosen by the Rugby Football Union as the host venue for this season's Anglo Welsh LV= Cup final
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
Anglo Welsh LV= Cup fixtures updated
Exeter Chiefs beat Saints to win LV Cup
Exeter vs Northampton LV= Cup final preview

More Anglo Welsh Cup News

Six Nations Rugby
Under fire Johnson gets backing from bosses
Scottish Rugby Union chief executive Mark Dodson has denied claims that Scott Johnson has been rewarded for failure after Scotland's miserable 2014 Six Nations campaign.
Read more on this Rugby news article

Other recent news
England's Brown wins Six Nations best player
Scotland fullback Hogg gets three week ban
Warburton to be out of action for 'several months'

More Six Nations Rugby News

Rugby Week Sponsor
Heineken Cup Video Highlights