New Zealand win U20 Rugby World Championship

New Zealand ended a four year wait to become U20 World Champions by beating
England 21-16 in the final in Italy.

England had won the last two tournaments and after scoring the opening try
it looked like they could be on the way to a third straight title.

The title is New Zealand’s “Baby Blacks” fifth title and their first
2011 after they had captured the first four editions from 2008 onwards.

England, the double defending champions, had led 7-0 at one stage after centre
Max Clark scored what turned out to be his side’s only try of the game.

Replacement centre Vincent Tavae-Aso helped pull the New Zealanders back into
the final with his team’s first try as they went on to carve out a narrow 11-10
lead at the interval.

Powerful No.8 Akira Ioane grabbed his team’s second try before he was sin-binned
and in a dramatic finale England had a try ruled out when Piers O’Connor was
judged to be offside.

South Africa’s “Baby Boks” took third place with a four-try, 31-18
win over France.

All of the team’s tries came in the first half through Thomas Du Toit (15th
minute), Jason Jenkins (28th) and Dan Dupreez (33rd and 39th) as South Africa
led 28-8 at half-time.

“We showed good composure to score those tries in the first half after
France had led 8-0,” said South Africa coach Dawie Theron.

“We couldn’t find our rhythm and momentum in the second half and
the French did well to put us under pressure.

“I’m glad we were able to finish the tournament with a win.”

Final Score New Zealand 21 (11) England 16 (10)


New Zealand
Tries – Tavae-Aso, Ioane
Pen – Black 3
Con – Black
Drop –
Cards – Ioane

Tries – Clark
Pen – Jennings 3
Con – Jennings
Drop –
Cards –


New Zealand

15 Mitchell Hunt, 14 Jack Goodhue, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 TJ Faiane, 11
Tevita Li, 10 Otere Black, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake
Gibson, 6 Mitchell Dunshea, 5 Hamish Dalzell, 4 Joshua Goodhue, 3 Atunaisa Moli
(c), 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Ricky Riccitelli

Replacements: 16 Steven Misa, 17 Isileli Tu’ungafasi, 18 Tau Koloamatangi,
19 Mitchell Jacobson, 20 Henry Stowers, 21 Harrison Levien, 22 Vincent Tavae-Aso,
23 George Bridge


15 Aaron Morris, 14 George Perkins, 13 Nick Tompkins, 12 Max Clark, 11 Howard
Packman, 10 Rory Jennings, 9 James Mitchell, 8 James Chisholm, 7 Will Owen,
6 Lewis Ludlam, 5 Charlie Ewels (c), 4 Will Witty, 3 Paul Hill, 2 Jack Walker,
1 Ellis Genge.

Replacements: 16 Jack Innard, 17 Sebastian Adeniran-Olule, 18 Ciaran Parker,
19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Sam Skinner, 21 Will Homer, 22 Lloyd Evans, 23 Piers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.