Moore and Giteau to hit 100 against Scotland

Stephen Moore will win his 100th cap in the quarter final

Australia head coach Michael Cheika has named his team to play Scotland in the Rugby World Cup quarter final against Scotland Stephen Moore and Matt Giteau winning their 100th caps.

Moore and Giteau will become Australia’s newest Wallabies centurions and they will become the seventh and eighth 100-capped Wallabies, joining George Gregan (139), Nathan Sharpe (116), George Smith (111), Stephen Larkham (102), David Campese (101) and current teammate Adam Ashley-Cooper (111).

While Moore retains the captaincy Giteau was in doubt but has recovered from an injury and lines up at inside centre.

In another historic occasion for Australian Rugby, Adam Ashley-Cooper will become the third-most capped Wallaby of all time in his 112th Test, overtaking flanker George Smith.

David Pocock and Israel Folau will both miss the sudden-death match after failing to overcome injuries sustained in the Wallabies nine-point win over Wales last week.

Pocock will be replaced by Ben McCalman, who will make his second start of the tournament at number eight, partnering Scott Fardy and returning vice-captain Michael Hooper in the Wallabies back row.

Kurtley Beale, who has produced several impressive performances from the bench this season, will take Folau’s place at fullback.

After an industrious cameo against Wales, lock Rob Simmons returns to the starting side with Dean Mumm moving to the reserves bench.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said the 100 caps for Giteau and Moore were significant milestones but the best thing the side could do to honour the veterans would be to qualify for a World Cup Semi-Final.

“Stephen and Matt are very highly respected members of our team before they ever reached 100 Tests mark but this landmark makes all of us in the team very proud,” he said.

“Every opportunity in the Gold Jersey is cherished and the 100th for these lads is a great opportunity for everyone to see how much they love playing for Australia.

“It is also a great chance for the lads playing against Scotland to improve their performance from our last game.

“As the tournament moves on we must continue to get better. That’s something we really want to do and believe we have in us.”


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore (c) , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Kane Douglas , 5. Rob Simmons , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Michael Hooper (vc) , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Will Genia , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Drew Mitchell , 12. Matt Giteau , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (vc) , 15. Kurtley Beale

Replacements : 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 17. James Slipper , 18. Greg Holmes , 19. Dean Mumm , 20. Sean McMahon , 21. Nick Phipps , 22. Matt Toomua , 23. Quade Cooper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.