Melbourne Rebels beat Western Force in Perth

 Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Perth based Western Force and Melbourne Rebels the Force have won just one match.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Rebels kick off and we are underway. 

2.00: The Rebels make a strong start as they stop an attack from the Force and then launch one of their own. However Jack Debreczeni knocks on so the Force have a scrum. 

3.00: The Rebels win the ball back after a Force line out. They run the ball into the Force’s 22. 

4.00: The Rebels continue to bash away at the Force and a hole opens up for Mike Harris on the 10th phase and he scores. TRY! He adds the conversion. 

8.00: The Force try to attack the Rebels in their half but Scott Fuglistaller wins a penalty for the Rebels. They kick for touch. 

10.00: The Rebels win the line out and go through the phases on attack which gets them to the Force’s 22 line but then the final pass goes to ground and then out. 

12.00: Laurie Weeks concedes a penalty for going off his feet so the Force have a penalty. They kick for touch and win the line out. 

13.00: The Force keep the ball in hand as they go through the phases just outside the Rebels 22. 

15.00: The Force win a scrum and Zack Holmes chips the ball for Nck Cummins to chase but the ball goes into touch. The Rebels win the line out and Debreczeni boots it into touch. 

18.00: Both teams use the boot to try and gain ground but its the Force who come out as winers. The Force win the line out and drive over the 22m line but there is a knock on and then a break for injury. 

21.00: The Rebels win a scrum and they run the ball down the line and Dom Shippereley gets the ball and races for the line and scores. TRY! 

24.00: Mike Harris misses the conversion as we lean that Scott Fuglistaller will not be back after dislocating his finger. 

26.00: Penalty to the Force. They kick for touch. They win the line out and attack the Rebels just outside the 22. 

29.00: Sean McMahon makes a run for the Rebels but is eventually shit down. Nathan Charles has to come off for a concussion test. 

32.00: Penalty to the Rebels from the ruck. Harris lines up the kick nails it to extend the lead. 

34.00: Injury break as Lopeti Timani gets some help. He comes off for a concussion test. 

36.00: Penalty to the Force in front of the posts for Scott Higginbotham leaving his feet. Instead of going for posts they kick for the corner. Nathan Charles is back on. 

37.00: The Force win the line out. They work the ball to the middle and then go back to the far side probing the Rebels defence. They change sides again but knock on. We are called back for a penalty and Alby Mathewson taps and goes – the Rebels were walking to the tryline – and scores. TRY! 

39.00: Luke Burton slots the conversion. 

40.00: The siren sounds and its half time. 

The half time score was Force 7 Rebels 15

The Force kick off and we are underway. 

45.00: The Rebels go long with the line out and Scott Higginbotham runs at pace into Nathan Charles who had to have a concussion tests earlier. Laurie Weeks comes off and on comes Paul Alo-Emile. Higginbotham knocked on. 

44.00: The Rebels win a penalty from the scrum. They kick for touch but fail to find it so the Force counter attack. 

46.00: The Force enjoy a strong spell of continuity. They go through 14 phases and the Rebels are caught offside so the Force have a penalty. 

48.00: The Force decide to kick for posts this time. Burton takes the kick as the rain comes down. He nails it. 

50.00: The Rebels look to hit back. They win a line out and Pek Cowan is driven backwards at the ruck. He comes off clutching his shoulder and his arm. 

52.00: The Rebels win scrum and Nic Stirzaker almost gets through. He is stopped and the Force break out with a run to the half way line bySteve Mafi. He is caught but the Force keep the ball moving through the hands. Cummins has two runs but then Mafi knocks on. 

56.00: Penalty to the Rebels from the scrum. The handbags come out and then it settles. 

57.00:Mike Harris kicks for touch and finds it. 

59.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Harris takes the kick and nails it. 

62.00: Marcel Brache tackles a Rebels player (Tom English) in the air and concedes a penalty for tackling in the air so the Rebels have a penalty. They kick for touch. 

64.00: The Rebels win another penalty so Mike Harris lines up for a kick at the posts. He nails it extending the lead. 

68.00: The Force start to make ground on the Rebels. They go through several phases including a good run from Chris Alcock but they knock on. 

71.00: The Rebels win a scrum and run the ball. Luke Burgess tries the kick for touch but it goes into touch. 

72.00: Penalty to the Force for players leaving their feet. They will kick for touch. 

74.00:The Force work the ball to the 5m line and they recycle the ball to Tetera Faulkner who bashes over for his first Super Rugby try. 

75.00: Burton slots the conversion. 

77.00: The Force are finishing this match as the stronger team. They have the ball on attack 10m inside the Rebels half. 

78.00: Penalty to the Force. They take the quick tap and run at the Rebels. The Rebels defence slows them in their 22. The rebels then turn the ball over and kick well upfield. 

79.00: Penalty to the Rebels after a run down the wing by the Force (Mitchell Scott). The Rebels choose a scrum for the penalty. 

80.00: The siren sounds. The Rebels win a penalty from the scrum. They will kick it into touch and win the match. 

Thats it. The Rebels. win. 

The full time score is  Force 17 (7) Rebels 21 (15)


Tries – A.Mathewson,T. Faulkner 
Pen – L.Burton
Con – L.Burton 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – M.Harris, D.Shipperley
Pen – M.Harris 3
Con – M.Harris
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Graham Cooper
TMO : Peter Marshall


Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Steve Mafi , 6. Brynard Stander , 7. Chris Alcock , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Zack Holmes , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Solomoni Jnr Rasolea , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Marcel Brache , 15. Luke Burton

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Oliver Hoskins , 19. Adam Coleman , 20. Kane Koteka , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Sias Ebersohn , 23. Mitchell Scott


1. Toby Smith ,2. Pat Leafa ,3. Laurie Weeks ,4. Luke Jones,5. Lopeti Timani,6. Sean McMahon,7. Scott Fuglistaller ,8. Scott Higginbotham ,9. Nic Stirzaker ,10. Jack Debreczeni ,11. Tom English ,12. Mitch Inman ,13. Tamati Ellison ,14. Dom Shipperley,15. Mike Harris

Replacements :16. Tom Sexton ,17. Cruze Ah-Nau ,18. Paul Alo-Emile ,19. Steve Cummins,20. Colby Fainga’a,21. Luke Burgess,22. Bryce Hegarty ,23. Sefanaia Naivalu

* Denotes potential Super Rugby debut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.