Matfield leads Barbarians against Argentina

Victor Matfield runs on to the field for South Africa

Victor Matfield has been named as captain of a team full of internationals against Argentina at Twickenham in London on Saturday.

World Cup finalists from New Zealand and Australia join forces in a Baabaas side which apart from Matfield includes World Cup stand-out Lood de Jager and Sharks prop Thomas du Toit in the starting lineup.

Four other South Africans are among the replacements – Pat Lambie, Cobus Reinach, Francois Venter and Bakkies Botha, who is making his final international appearance.

Head coach Michael Cheika, whose Wallabies were beaten 34-17 by the All Blacks three weeks ago, has also called on Fiji’s Nemani Nadolo in the Killik Cup squad named on Friday.

The starting lineup sees New Zealand’s World Breakthrough Player Nehe Milner-Skudder deployed alongside giant wing Nadolo and Australia’s Tevita Kuridrani.

The match against Argentina celebrates the 125th anniversary of the Barbarians club founded by WP Carpmael in 1890 and many of the club’s former greats – including legendary 1973 try-scorer Gareth Edwards – will be watching from the Royal Box.

The Barbarians take on a Pumas team that will contain most of the players that lit up their World Cup campaign with hooker Agustin Creevy, flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez and star wing Santiago Cordero all involved.


15 Nehe Milner-Skudder (Hurricanes & New Zealand), 14 Waisake Naholo (Highlanders & New Zealand), 13 Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies & Australia), 12 Ryan Crotty (Crusaders & New Zealand), 11 Nemani Nadolo (Crusaders & Fiji), 10 Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders & New Zealand), 9 Tawera Kerr Barlow (Chiefs & New Zealand), 1 Thomas du Toit (Sharks), 2 Stephen Moore Brumbies & Australia), 3 Charlie Faumuina (Blues & New Zealand), 4 Lood de Jager (Cheetahs & South Africa), Victor Matfield (Northampton Saints & South Africa, captain), 6 Scott Fardy (Brumbies & Australia), 7 Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), 8 Stephen Hoiles (Waratahs & Australia)

Replacements (from): James Hanson (Melbourne Rebels & Australia), Jamie Mackintosh (Chiefs & New Zealand), Toby Smith (Melbourne Rebels & Australia), Bakkies Botha (South Africa), Jarrad Butler (Brumbies), Cobus Reinach (Sharks & South Africa), Pat Lambie (Sharks & South Africa), Francois Venter (Cheetahs), Joe Tomane (Brumbies & Australia).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.