Lions beat Blues in Albany

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Blues and the Lions the Auckland based Blues have won four and lost one match.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Elton Jantjies kicks off and we are underway. 

The Blues get the ball from the kick off and immediately run hard at the Lions. 

1.00: The Lions knock on after a burst from Lolagi Visinia. Blues scrum. Lionel Mapoe goes off for a concussion test and Howard Mnisi comes on. 

3.00: The Blues win the first scrum but after a couple of phases they knock on. 

4.00: The Lions win a penalty so they kick upfield. They fail to find touch. 

6.00:The Lions go through a couple of phases running the ball but at the breakdown they knock on. Blues scrum. 

8.00: The Blues are caught offside so the Lions have a penalty. Elton Jantjies will kick for posts. 

9.00: Jantjies takes the shot but misses. 

10.00: The Blues burst into life with a run started by Ihaia West. When they get to about 10m out they knock on. 

13.00: The Lions are using the boot a lot. The Blues get the ball from a Lions kick and counter attack. Ihaia West loses the ball and the Lions get a boot to it and the chase is won by Charles Piutau. 

14.00: Lionel Mapoe comes back on as the Blues kick deep from a 22 drop out. 

18.00: The Blues win a penalty from the scrum for early engage. They choose another scrum. 

19.00: The Blues win the scrum and run at the Lions. They get from the half way line to the 22 but the whistle goes for a penalty. Jerome Kaino is down. The medics come rushing in. He goes off for blood. 

20.00: Ihaia West takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Blues lead. 

24.00: Penalty for offside to the Lions. Elton Jantjies takes the kick and this one he nails. The scores are level. 

26.00: The Blues look dangerous as they work the ball to the Lions 5m line. The Blues keep recycling the ball but the Lions hold firm and push them sideways. The Blues change sides and Melani Nanai sidesteps and goes over but is held up. Blues 5m scrum. 

28.00: Jerome Kaino comes back on to boost the Blues scrum. 

29.00: The Blues win the scrum. They run the ball and drive over the line next to the posts. They are held up initially but them Jerome Kaino scores. TRY! 

30.00: West slots the conversion. 

32.00: Penalty to the Blues for obstruction at the line out. The Blues kick for touch and the line out. 

34.00: The Blues get the ball in attack to the Lions 5m line but the Lions stop them and win the scrum put in. 

37.00: The Blues kick the ball upfeild. Jantjies drops the ball – backwards –  and then kicks it back to the Blues who counter attack. 

38.00: Visinia chips the ball on attack and it bounces straight over Ross Cronje and the into touch. Lions put in but 8m out. 

39.00: The Lions win the line out but they have to kick upfield and into touch. Blues line out. The Blues win the line out and attack in the Lions half. 

40.00: The siren sounds and the Blues play on. It’s all the Blues. Phase after phase of Blues attack. The Lions defence holds strong as the Blues send wave after wave of attack at the Lions. West tries the chip kick and Cronje takes it and the Lions kick the ball into touch. 

Blues territory first half = 83%. Blues possession = 57%. 

The half time score was Blues 10 Lions 3

The Blues kick off and we are underway. 

41.00: Jamison Gibson-Park is on for Jimmy Cowan and the Blues. 

43.00: The Blues try to run the ball after a scrum but they knock on. 

44.00: The Lions win a penalty from the scrum. The Lions kick for touch – Jantjies fails to find touch. The ball goes back to the Lions who kick it out. 

45.00: The Lions line out is not straight. James Parsons comes on for Keven Mealamu. 

49.00: Penalty to the Lions. Jantjies takes the kick and nails it. 

52.00: The Blues look to hit straight back. They grind the ball up to the Lions tryline. They go over but get held up. 

56.00: The Blues are putting huge pressure on the Lions tryline but the Lions continue to hold them out. Time after time. Blues have had 80% territory and 60% possession. Blues have had 16 minutes inside the Lions 22. 

60.00: The Blues try to run the ball after a line out but they get blown up for obstruction. Lions penalty. They kick for touch. 

62.00: The Lions open up after a line out and a break from af de Klerk.Jantjies sends a wide ball out to Ruan Combrinck who scores in the corner. TRY! The crowd are stunned. 

63.00: Jantjies takes the conversion kick and he nails it. The Lions lead. 

68.00: The Lions win another penalty. Faf de Klerk takes the quick tap and runs for the line but he is caught and the Blues win a penalty. They kick for touch. 

72.00: Penalty to the Lions. Illegal scrumming. They will kick for posts. Ruan Combrinck takes the shot but misses. 

74.00: The Blues get the ball but Jerome Kaino knocks on. The Lions play on but they concede a penalty. The Blues will kick for posts. 

76.00: West takes the kick but misses. 

78.00; Scrum penalty to the Lions. They kick for touch. 

80.00: The Lions turn the ball over after the siren and kick the ball out. 

Thats it the Lions win. 

The full time score is Blues 10 (10) Lions 13(3)


Tries – J.Kaino
Pen – I.West
Con – I.West
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R.Combrinck
Pen – E.Jantjies 2
Con – E.Jantjies
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Matt O’Brien
Assistant Ref 1:Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 2:Brendon Pickerill
TMO :Glen Newman



1.Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 2. Keven Mealamu ,3. Charlie Faumuina , 4. Josh Bekhuis , 5. Patrick Tuipulotu , 6. Steven Luatua , 7. Luke Braid , 8. Jerome Kaino , 9. Jimmy Cowan , 10.Ihaia West , 11.Melani Nanai , 12.Francis Saili , 13.Charles Piutau , 14.Frank Halai , 15. Lolagi Visinia

Replacements : 16. James Parsons , 17. Sam Prattley , 18. Angus Ta’avao , 19. Hayden Triggs , 20. Brendon O’Connor , 21. Jamison Gibson-Park , 22. Simon Hickey , 23. Hamish Northcott


15. Andries Coetzee , 14. Ruan Combrinck , 13. Lionel Mapoe , 12. Harold Vorster , 11. Sampie Mastriet , 10. Elton Jantjies , 9. Ross Cronje , 8. Warren Whiteley (c) , 7. Warwick Tecklenburg , 6. Jaco Kriel , 5. Martin Muller , 4. Franco Mostert , 3. Julian Redelinghuys , 2. Robbie Coetzee , 1. Corne Fourie

Replacements : 16. Armand van der Merwe , 17. Jacques van Rooyen , 18. Ruan Dreyer , 19. Robert Kruger , 20. Derick Minnie , 21. Faf de Klerk , 22. Jaco van der Walt , 23. Howard Mnisi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.