Leicester Tigers v Wasps Premiership Preview

Leicester Tigers host Bath at Welford Road

Leicester Tigers have named their summer signing Opeti Fonua in the starting line up to play Wasps in Sunday’s Aviva Premiership at Welford Road.

Tongan No8 Fonua, signed from London Welsh in the summer, made his debut as a replacement in the win at London Irish in Round 1 and is now due to run out on home turf for the first time.

England prop Dan Cole makes his first start since the Rugby World Cup alongside international team-mate Tom Youngs and Fraser Balmain in the front row.

New arrival Telusa Veainu is included among the replacements after starring with Tonga at the World Cup and there are also places in the matchday squad for scrum-half Jono Kitto, signed from club rugby in New Zealand this summer, and former Newcastle Falcons lock Dom Barrow who has recovered from a knee injury suffered towards the end of last season.

Jordan Crane also returns to the matchday squad after recovery from a knee injury.

Leicester Tigers have lost just one of their last six Aviva Premiership Rugby matches – at Bath in last season’s semi-final, whilst they are unbeaten at Welford Road in their last ten fixtures in the tournament, a run which includes eight wins in a row.

Wasps three game winless run in Aviva Premiership Rugby ended at the Ricoh Arena on Saturday with their 16-9 victory over Bath, whilst their only win on the road in the competition in 2015 came when they visited London Welsh in April.

The Tigers achieved a Premiership Rugby double over Wasps last season. Wasps most recent victory at Welford Road was 28-19 in Premiership Rugby in September 2008.

Meanwhile Wasps’ Director of Rugby Dai Young has handed Dan Robson his first Premiership start for Wasps at scrum half, after Joe Simpson ran out in the 9 shirt for Wasps’ first two games.

Kearnan Myall makes his first start of the season, alongside Joe Launchbury in the second row. Bradley Davies is set to provide reinforcement from the bench, having returned after a week off following Wales’ Rugby World Cup campaign.

The front row and back-row remain unchanged from the starting line-up against Bath.

Ruaridh Jackson lines up at fullback in place of Rob Miller, who picked up a hamstring injury against Bath. Alex Lozowski provides cover for 10 and 15 on the bench.

After Ben Jacobs strained his knee last weekend, James Downey starts at inside centre, in a backline also featuring Elliot Daly, Christian Wade, Frank Halai and Jimmy Gopperth.

Dai Young said: “We were pleased to get the win at home last Saturday against Bath, but we also know, despite it being a pretty good performance, that we need to be more ruthless and clinical. We are still a work in progress and have a lot of improvements to make, but we feel we are moving in the right direction.

“Playing Leicester Tigers at Welford Road is one of the toughest challenges a Premiership side will face. Since I’ve been at Wasps, we haven’t yet managed to sneak a win there and we’re not alone in that. There aren’t many teams that have won consistently at Welford Road. That’s one of the reasons Leicester have been so successful over as many years as it’s possible to remember.

“We know we’re going to have to be somewhere near our best on Sunday if we are to get the result we want, but there is no reason why we can’t be. I’m confident that, if we play to our potential, we can go there and win, but we will need to perform at the top of our game.

“There’s an historic rivalry between Wasps and Leicester which has been at the heart of English rugby in years gone by. Obviously, Wasps have had a couple of lean years, but we’re hoping to get back there. The supporters certainly have huge respect for each other, but you can definitely sense a rivalry between Wasps and Leicester which has been built on historic successes.”

Match : Leicester Tigers v Wasps
Date : Sunday 1st November
Venue : Welford Road,
Kick Off : 3.15pm
Live on: BT Sport
Match Officials
Referee :Tim Wigglesworth (97th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell and Simon Harding.
TMO: Stuart Terheege


Leicester Tigers

15 Mathew Tait (c) , 14 Adam Thompstone , 13 Peter Betham , 12 Matt Smith , 11 Vereniki Goneva , 10 Owen Williams , 9 Sam Harrison , 1 Fraser Balmain , 2 Tom Youngs , 3 Dan Cole , 4 Mike Williams , 5 Mike Fitzgerald , 6 Tom Croft , 7 Lachlan McCaffrey , 8 Opeti Fonua

Replacements : 16 Greg Bateman , 17 Logovi’i Mulipola , 18 Tiziano Pasquali , 19 Dom Barrow , 20 Jordan Crane , 21 Jono Kitto , 22 Seremaia Bai , 23 Telusa Veainu


15. Ruaridh Jackson , 14. Christian Wade , 13. Elliot Daly , 12. James Downey , 11. Frank Halai , 10. Jimmy Gopperth , 9. Dan Robson, 8. Nathan Hughes , 7. George Smith , 6. James Haskell © , 5. Kearnan Myall , 4. Joe Launchbury , 3. Jake Cooper-Woolley , 2. Carlo Festuccia , 1. Matt Mullan

Replacements : 16. Ashley Johnson , 17. Tom Bristow , 18. Lorenzo Cittadini , 19. Bradley Davies , 20. Guy Thompson , 21. Joe Simpson , 22. Alex Lozowski , 23. Sailosi Tagicakibau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.