Hurricanes leave it late against Highlanders

Ben Smith is tackled by Cory Jane

Ardie Savea scored a late try to help the Hurricanes edge the Highlanders 27-20 at Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

The Highlanders had won the previous two Super Rugby matches between the teams including last year’s Super Rugby final in Wellington.

The Hurricanes outscored the Highlanders by three tries to two in the match with Ardie Savea scoring a try in each half.

The result means that the teams change places with the Hurricanes moving above the Highlanders in the New Zealand Conference, the Australasian Group and the overall standings.

The Hurricanes return from the June Internationals with a match on the 2nd of July against the Blues in Wellington.

The Highlanders travel to South Africa where they play the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth on the same day.

More to follow.

Final Score Hurricanes 27 (17) Highlanders 20 (7)


Tries – A.Savea 2, B.Shields
Pen – B.Barrett 2
Con – B.Barrett 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – L.Sopoaga, D.Lienert-Brown
Pen – L.Sopoaga, M.Banks
Con – L.Sopoaga 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1:Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 2:Jamie Nutbrown
TMO : Aaron Peterson



15 James Marshall, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Vince Aso, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (vc), 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Blade Thomson, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles (c), 1 Reggie Goodes

Replacements: Motu Matu’u, Chris Eves, Lonu Uhila, Vaea Fifita, Callum Gibbins, Jamison Gibson Park, Ngani Laumape, Jason Woodward.


1. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 2. Ash Dixon , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Alex Ainley , 5. Tom Franklin , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. Dan Pryor , 8. Luke Whitelock , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Malakai Fekitoa , 13. Matt Faddes , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (c)

Replacements : 16. Greg Pleasants-Tate , 17. Aki Seiuli , 18. Siosiua Halanukonuka , 19. Mark Reddish , 20. Liam Squire , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Teihorangi Walden

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.