Hougaard helps Worcester beat Sale Sharks

Francois Hougaard scores a try for Worcester

Worcester Warriors moved above Newcastle Falcons in the standings by beating Sale Sharks 31-23 at Sixways in the Aviva Premiership.

Worcester scored three tries – one of which was by their newest recruit Francois Hougaard – but Sale Sharks scored four tries and take just the bonus point from the match.

Fly-half Tom Heathcote was also crucial to the victory, picking up 16 points as Dean Ryan’s team move up to 10th in the Premiership. On his first appearance since announcing his exit from Sale Sharks, Danny Cipriani missed a number of chances which could have seen his side pick up more than a solitary try bonus point.

The home side started the game well, an early penalty aimed for the corner culminated in Heathcote getting a chance for the early points. He hit the second penalty through the posts, and Worcester led 3-0.

Worcester stretched their lead further in the opening exchanges, some patient play from the lineout led to Carl Kirwan crossing the whitewash unchallenged, but Heathcote failed to add the extras.

Cipriani brought the visitors back into the game with a simple penalty from Sale’s first attack of the afternoon. The hosts looked to have extended their lead even further through a fantastic move.

Heathcote broke from the scrum and Bryce Heem touched down, but the TMO ruled there was a hand in the scrum, and the try was disallowed.

Worcester could have been forgiven for letting their heads drop, but instead, debutant Hougaard made the most of being in the right place at the right time, touching down from close range. Heathcote sneaked his effort inside the post.

And moments later, Heathcote kicked another penalty, making it 18-3. Then, on the verge of half-time, Sale’s Dave Seymour got over the line after the forwards powered the maul up the pitch, although Cipriani was unable to convert.

From the restart, Mike Haley was shown a yellow card for slowing down play in the ruck, and another Heathcote penalty made it 21-8 at the break.

Despite starting the second half with an extra man, Worcester looked weak, and a succession of penalties led to Tommy Taylor touching down. Cipriani’s kicking record was called into question once more, his effort sailing well wide of the post.

But Sale struggled to get a further foothold in the game, with Chris Pennell’s try converted by Heathcote following excellent work on the flank. Heathcote was again on the scoresheet just minutes later, this time via a penalty.

Despite being outclassed for the majority of the game, Sale got their third try. It came through Haley – fresh from the sin bin – crossing near the touchline. Cipriani missed the extras, but they were given a real chance to mount a comeback as Worcester prop Nick Schonert was given a yellow card for a no arms tackle.

Haley then scored his second try of the day, but Cipriani’s wayward kicking again left Sale deflated. The last minute touchdown meant one bonus point for the visitors, but nothing else.

The result moves Worcester above Newcastle but the Falcons play London Irish tomorrow.

Final Score Worcester Warriors 31 (21) Sale Sharks 23 (8)


Worcester Warriors
Tries – Kirwan, Hougaard, Pennell
Pen – Heathcote (4)
Con – Heathcote (2)
Drop –

Sale Sharks
Tries – Seymour, Taylor, Haley (2)
Pen –
Con -Cipriani
Drop –

Match Officials
Referee : Greg Garner (92nd Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Simon McConnell & Jonathan Healy.
TMO: David Grashoff/David Rose



15 Chris Pennell , 14 Bryce Heem , 13 Wynand Olivier , 12 Ryan Mills , 11 Cooper Vuna , 10 Tom Heathcote , 9 Francois Hougaard , 1. Val Rapava Ruskin , 2. Jaba Bregvadze , 3. Nick Schonert , 4. Donncha O’Callaghan , 5. Darren Barry , 6. Dewald Potgieter , 7. Carl Kirwan , 8. GJ van Velze (C)

Replacements : 16. Niall Annett , 17. Na’ama Leleimalefaga , 18. James Johnston , 19. Dan Sanderson , 20. Phil Dowson , 21. Luke Baldwin , 22. Ryan Lamb , 23. Andy Symons

Sale Sharks

15. Mike Haley, 14. Tom Arscott, 13. Sam James, 12. Sam Tuitupou, 11. Nev Edwards, 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Peter Stringer, 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Tommy Taylor, 3. Vadim Cobilas, 4. Bryn Evans, 5. Jonathan Mills, 6. Cameron Neill, 7. David Seymour, 8. Josh Beaumont (capt.)

Replacements: 16. Neil Briggs, 17. Eifion Lewis Roberts, 18. Brian Mujati, 19. Magnus Lund, 20. Mark Easter, 21. Chris Cusiter, 22. Joe Ford, 23. Mark Jennings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.