Highlanders beat Waratahs in Dunedin

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Dunedin based Highlanders and the Sydney based Waratahs the Dunedin side have won two and the Sydney side three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Highlanders kick off and we are underway. The Highlanders concede a penalty after the kick off so the Waratahs kick for touch. 

2.00:The Waratahs sustain some early pressure from the Highlanders. 

3.00: The Waratahs win a line out and Michael Hooper slices through the Highlanders defence and he passes to Nick Phipps who scores. TRY! 

4.00: Bernard Foley misses the conversion. 

6.00: The Waratahs have a scrum but it has to be reset as it collapses. 

7.00: The scrum collapses again and the Waratahs win a penalty. They kick for touch. 

9.00; The Highlanders win a line out but its messy so the clearance kick fails to find touch. The Waratahs counter attack. 

10.00: The Waratahs are dominating the territory and the possession. They do however concede a penalty at the scrum so the Highlanders kick for touch. A kicking contest follows as neither team can find touch. 

13.00: The Highlanders are starting to get into the game. They get some hands on the ball and push the Waratahs back into their half. 

15.00: The Waratahs turn the ball over from the Highlanders attack and they win a penalty. Foley kicks for touch. 

18.00: The Waratahs win a penalty from the scrum. They kick for touch and win the line out. 

19.00: The Waratahs win the line out and Phipps slips through the front and passes to Matt Carraro who scores. TRY! 

20.00: Foley slots the conversion. 

21.00: Waratahs penalty.  Waisake Naholo leaving his feet. Tahs kick for touch. 

22.00: The Waratahs win the line out but knock on. Highlanders scrum on their 22m line. 

25.00: The Highlanders are coming alive. They look dangerous as they run the ball into the Waratahs 22. Naholo makes ground but the Highlanders are called back for a penalty. Lima Sopoaga kicks for touch and the line out. 

27.00: The Highlanders send wave after wave of attack at the Waratahs line. They win a penalty and Sekope Kepu is yellow carded for killing the ball. The Hghlanders choose a scrum for the penalty. 

29.00: The Highlanders win the scrum and they edge closer to the line. They go for the line but are short and then Tom Franklin bashes over. TRY!  

30.00: Lima Sopoaga slots the conversion. 

32.00: There is a break in play for an injury.  Highlanders player John Hardie is driven off the field after having his leg wrapped up. The Game resumes. 

34.00:The Highlanders are holding on to the ball a lot more. They work the ball into the Waratahs 22 but then the Tahs turn the ball over and kick for touch. 

36.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Sopoaga will kick for posts. He misses. 

38.00: Kepu is back on. Malakai Fekitoa tackles and steals the ball. He gets the ball to Waisake Naholo who absolutely flies down the wing leaving the Waratahs cold. TRY! 

39.00: Sopoaga adds the conversion. 

40.00: The siren sounds straight after the kick off. The Waratahs get pushed into touch. 

Its half time. 

The half time score was Highlanders 14 Waratahs 12

The Waratahs kick off and the second half is underway. 

43.00: The Highlanders get the perfect start as they press the Waratahs back into their 22. Ben Smith gets the ball about 10m out and slips off a tackle and scores. TRY! 

44.00: Lima Sopoaga takes the conversion kick and nails it.

46.00: The Highlanders get the ball in their half and atatck. They split the Waratahs defence and Patrick Osborne scores. TRY! Bonus point. 

47.00: Sopoaga misses the conversion. 

51.00: Scrum penalty to the Highlanders. They will kick for posts. 

52.00: Sopoaga misses the penalty. 

54.00: The Waratahs manage to find a hole and Peter Betham slips dwn the wing but is stopped 5m out. 

55.00: The Waratahs win a line out 5m out they go through the phases attacking from side to side as they go. 

56.00: The Highlanders defence holds strong and wins a penalty. 

60.00: The Highlanders enjoy another big passage of attacking play but the Highlanders hold them out. 

61.00: Fekitoa kicks the ball upfield and there is a chase for the ball. Osborne almost gets to it but the ruling is that the Tahs carried it over so we have a Highlanders 5m scrum. 

65.00: Sekope Kepu makes a heavy hit on Malakai Fekitoa. Fekitoa goes down and the ref misses the late hit. The game resumes after Fekitoa recovers. 

68.00: The Waratahs have the ball and are attacking in the Highlanders 22. The home side continue to hold them out. 

69.00: The Highlanders win a penalty from the scrum for early engaging. They kick for touch. 

70.00: The TMO is called in to look at some foul play. The Highlanders win a penalty for playing off the ball. Marty Banks kicks for touch. 

71.00:Aaron Smith chips the ball ahead and Folau and Fekitoa chase the ball but the line wins. 

73.00: Rob Horne makes a break for the Waratahs. He gets them on the front foot and the Waratahs get to about 10m out and they win a penalty.

74.00: The Waratahs set up a maul. They drive over the line but may have been held up. We go to the TMO to check. No try – held up. 

75.00: Waratahs win a penalty from the scrum. They choose another scrum. 

76.00: The Waratahs win the scrum and run but Matt Carrarro loses the ball with a semi-open tryline ahead. 

77.00: The Highlanders win the scrum and kick. The ball goes to Folau who slips through the defence and he passes to Carrarro who passes to Stephen Hoiles who scores. TRY! 

78.00: Foley slots the conversion. 

79.00: The Waratahs have stepped it up. They are passing the ball around and looking dangerous. 

They lose the ball however as the siren sounds and the Highlanders get the ball and boot it into touch. 

Thats it the Highlanders win. 

The full time score is Highlanders 26 (14) Waratahs 19 (12)


Tries – T. Franklin, W.Naholo, B.Smith, P.Osborne 
Pen –
Con – L.Sopoaga 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – N.Phipps, M.Carraro, S.Hoiles
Pen –
Con – B.Foley 2
Drop –
Cards -S.Kepu (27th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Kane McBride
Assistant Ref 2:Mike Lash
TMO : Vinny Munro



1. Josh Hohneck , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Ross Geldenhuys , 4. Tom Franklin , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. Shane Christie , 8. Nasi Manu (c) , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Shaun Treeby , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (c)

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Brendon Edmonds , 18. Pingi Tala’apitaga , 19. Mark Reddish , 20. John Hardie , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Jason Emery


1. Robinson,2. Polota-Nau,3. Kepu,4. Skelton,5. Dennis (C),6. Potgieter,7. Hooper (VC),8. Palu,9. Phipps,10. Foley,11. Horne,12. Beale,13. Carraro,14. Betham,15. Folau (VC)

Replacements : 16. Latu,17. Tilse,18. Ryan,19. Lousi,20. Chapman,21. Hoiles,22. McKibbin,23. Lance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.