Highlanders beat Reds in Dunedin

The Highlanders and the Reds will kick off Round 3 of the 2015 Super Rugby season in Dunedin where the Highlanders will be looking to end a losing streak.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

James O’Connor kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: Both teams look like they want to play the game. The Highlanders have a few runs at the Reds defence and they win a penalty. Marty Banks will kick for posts. 

2.00: Banks takes the shot and nails it. The Highlanders lead. 

5.00: The Reds sustain some pressure from the Highlanders and they win a penalty in their half. O’Connor kicks for touch. 

6.00: The Reds win a line out and James O’Connor shows how dangerous he can be by slicing through the Highlanders defence. He is caught and the Highlanders turn the ball over. 

7.00: The Reds put the Highlanders under pressure in their 22 but they lose the ball forward. 

9.00: Scrum penalty to the Reds for front row collapsing. James O’Connor will take the shot. 

10.00: O’Connor nails the penalty and levels the scores. 

14.00: The Highlanders win a line out and after a short run kick for touch. The Reds win the line out and attack down the wing. 

15.00: The Reds change sides and attack down the opposite wing. They get to within a metre of the line but knock on. 

17.00: The Highlanders win the scrum and kick upfield to clear. The Reds get the ball as it doesn’t go into touch. They counter attack and win a penalty.

19.00: O’Connor’s kick goes to the left and misses, 

21.00: The Reds concede a penalty so Marty Banks takes the shot and nails it. HIghlanders lead. 

23.00: Another penalty to the Highlanders. Banks takes the shot and nails it again. 

26.00; The Highlanders win the ball from a line out but knock on giving the Reds the put in at a scrum. 

28.00: The Reds win a penalty from the scrum and they choose another scrum. 

29.00: The Highlanders win the ball from the Reds line out and they attack. After a run they kick upfield and the Reds kick the ball back – into touch. The Highlanders therefore have a line out in the Reds half. 

32.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Banks lines up the kick but this one he misses. 

35.00: The Highlanders have the ball on the attack in the Reds 22. They try the grubbber kick through the Reds backs and chase. Waisake Naholo and Will Genia get to the ball and the same time and we go to the TMO to see if a try has been scored. No try as Genia grounded the ball first. 

37.00: The Highlanders knock on in their half so the Reds have a scrum. They win the scrum but its messy and gets turned over by the Highlanders who kick to Lachie Turner. 

38.00: Both teams kick the ball back at each other. The Reds knock on and the Highlanders have a scrum on the Reds 22 line. 

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. It is half time. 

The half time score was Highlanders 9 Reds 3

The Highlanders kick off and the second half is underway. 

41.00: The Highlanders make a strong start to the second half as they attack the Reds and push them back to their tryline. The Reds concede a penalty on the 5m line so the Highlanders kick for touch and the 5m line out. 

42.00: The Highlanders win the line out and set up the maul. They drive over the line but the ball is turned over and the Reds get a scrum put in.

46.00:  The Highlanders concede another penalty from the scrum. Lachie Turner kicks for touch. 

48.00: Will Genia goes for the line and the try but Aaron Smith manages to turn and roll him in the tackle and prevents a try. 

49.00: The Reds get the put in at a 5m scrum. The Reds win the ball and Jake Schatz goes over to score. TRY! 

50.00: James O’Connor takes the conversion kick and nails it. The Reds lead. 

53.00: The Highlanders go on the attack in the Reds 22. They get close but get called back when momentum dies. We go back for a penalty as referee Glen Jackson was playing advantage. 

54.00 Marty Banks slots the penalty and the Highlanders lead again. 

57.00: Momentum looks to be shifting a little to the Highlanders. They win a scrum and break through. Genia gets a hand to the ball with an intercept but the ball goes to ground and the Highlanders concede a penalty. The Reds kick for touch. 

60.00: Waisake Naholo has a run for the Highlanders but gets shut down. The Highlanders knock on at the ruck so the Reds have a scrum as the Highlanders start to bring on their bench. 

66.00: The Highlanders win a scrum. They attack the Reds and move the ball from the half way line to the 22. They get the advantage for a high tackle but continue to play and spread the ball wide to Waisake Naholo who races for the corner and scores. TRY! 

69.00: Hayden Parker takes the conversion from the touchline but misses. 

71.00: The Reds are still within bonus point territory and they continue to attack. They kick upfield but the Highlanders kick it back and into touch. 

72.00:  The Reds win the line out but then concede a penalty at the breakdown.  

75.00: The Highlanders work the ball at pace to the Reds 22. Dan Pryor comes close to scoring but just gets shoved into touch. The Reds win the line out and Genia kicks upfield into touch. 

76.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Hayden Parker will kick for posts. 

77.00: Parker nails the kick which takes the Reds beyond 7 behind. 

78.00: Penalty to the Reds. James O’Connor takes the kick and its there. The Reds are back in bonus point territory. 

80.00: The siren sounds after the kick off but the Highlanders push the Reds into touch. 

That is it. The Highlanders win. 

The full time score is Highlanders 20 (9) Reds 13 (3)


Tries – W.Naholo
Pen – M.Banks 4, H.Parker
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J.Schatz
Pen – J.O.Connor 2
Con – J.O.Connor
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Kane McBride
Assistant Ref 2:Paul Williams
TMO : Vinny Munro



1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Ash Dixon , 3. Ross Geldenhuys , 4. Tom Franklin , 5. Mark Reddish , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. John Hardie , 8. Nasi Manu (co-Captain) , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Marty Banks , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Jason Emery , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (co-Captain)

Replacements : 16. Liam Coltman , 17. Josh Hohneck , 18. Ma’afu Fia , 19. Joe Wheeler , 20. Dan Pryor , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Hayden Parker , 23. Kurt Baker

Queensland Reds

1. James Slipper (C) , 2. Saia Fainga’a , 3. Sam Talakai , 4. Dave McDuling (Starting debut) , 5. Marco Kotze , 6. Adam Thomson , 7. Liam Gill , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Will Genia , 10. James O’Connor (Reds debut) , 11. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 12. Anthony Fainga’a , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Kuridrani , 15. Lachie Turner

Replacements : 16. James Hanson , 17. Ben Daley , 18. Sef Faagase , 19. Tom Murday , 20. Curtis Browning , 21. Nick Frisby , 22. Sam Johnson , 23. Campbell Magnay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.