Gatland names unchanged Wales to play England

Rhys Webb returns in the replacements bench

Wales coach Warren Gatland has named an unchanged starting team to play England in the Six Nations at Twickenham on Saturday.

Fit again Rhys Webb is named on the replacements bench where Paul James and Luke Charteris also come into the team.

James replaces Gethin Jenkins who continues to recover from a calf injury but has been re-integrated back into training. Charteris has come through training positively following his knee injury and returns to the side and Webb, who was called into the squad earlier this week, is also named as scrum-half cover.

Front-row trio Rob Evans, Scott Baldwin and Samson Lee pack down for a fourth consecutive Six Nations match together.

In the second row Bradley Davies and Alun Wyn Jones, who boast more than 150 International caps between them continue their partnership and it is an unchanged back row of Dan Lydiate, Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau.

Man of the match against France, Gareth Davies and Dan Biggar continue at half-back with Jamie Roberts partnering Jonathan Davies in midfield. Alex Cuthbert, George North and Liam Williams are named as the back three.

“We’ve named a pretty experienced side for Saturday, no changes in the starting team, I thought they did pretty well against France and we are looking for them to do a job for us this weekend,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“We have a couple of guys back from injury on the bench, Luke Charteris, Paul James and Rhys Webb and that is a bonus.

“There is a huge amount to play for on Saturday and it will go a long way to deciding the Six Nations.

“We are happy with the blend of our side. We have a very experienced back five in the pack, blended with the youth up from and that balance is really pleasing.”

“It’s great to have Rhys back in the squad. He has been training really hard and brings a lot of energy and experience to the team.”

Ken Owens and Tomas Francis join James as the front row replacements. Charteris and Justin Tipuric complete the forward contingent. Webb, Rhys Priestland and Gareth Anscombe are cover for the backs.


Liam Williams (Scarlets), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), George North (Northampton Saints), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets); Rob Evans (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Paul James (Ospreys), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.