Force v Hurricanes Super Rugby Preview

The second match in Super Rugby Rd.3 is in Perth Western Australia where the Western Force host the Hurricanes who are coming off an unbeaten tour of South Africa.

The Force have played the Hurricanes 8 times since the Perth side joined Super Rugby 10 years ago in 2006. In those ten Super Rugby matches the Force have won 1 match and lost 7 matches.

That gives the Force a record of winning 13% of their Super Rugby matches against the Hurricanes. The average score when the Force play the Hurricanes is: Force 18 Hurricanes 31

This weekend the Force will have home advantage over the Hurricanes as the match will be played in Perth where the teams have met just three times.

In those three matches the Force won one match and the Hurricanes won twice which gives the Force a record of winning 33% of their home matches against the Hurricanes.

The average score when the Force play the Hurricanes at home is : Force 21 Hurricanes 30.

The Force won their first match against the Hurricanes in Perth 18-17 in 2006 but since then they have lost every match – at home and away – to the Hurricanes. This has led to a six match losing streak for the Force.

In terms of selection the Force have Pek Cowan back from injury while back-rower Brynard Stander gets his first start for 2015 replacing Chris Alcock.

In the back line, Zack Holmes will shift from fullback to flyhalf, allowing Luke Burton to start in the ’15’ jersey.

In terms of form the Force have had mixed results this year. They beat the Waratahs in their opening fixture but then last week they looked a subdued side and were beaten by the Reds.

The Hurricanes on the other hand are unbeaten and top the New Zealand Conference. They went through South Africa unbeaten whilst rotating the players.

This weekend the Hurricanes have again rotated players and Conrad Smith is rested. Twenty-eight-year-old Dane Coles will start as captain alongside Reggie Goodes and Ben Franks in the ‘Canes front row.

Coach Chris Boyd’s rotation policy also sees Blade Thomson moving to lock alongside James Broadhurst, while Ardie Savea comes back in to the starting line-up.

Victor Vito will also have his first start for the 2015 season, along with Chris Smiley and James Marshall.

In 2014 the Force won 75% of their home matches but as this is their first match at home for 2015 it’s hard to know if they will match that figure again.

The Bookies have given the Force a 2 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. While home advantage is always a huge factor it’s hard to ignore the Hurricanes results in SA. The Hurricanes should win this by 2.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: Force 18 Hurricanes 31

Last five results
19 Apr 2013 Force v Hurricanes 16-22 Wellington
09 Mar 2012 Force v Hurricanes 19-46 Perth
27 May 2011 Force v Hurricanes 28-34 Palmerston North
20 Feb 2010 Force v Hurricanes 22-47 Wellington
10 Apr 2009 Force v Hurricanes 27-28 Perth

Force’s overall record against the Hurricanes
Played 8 , Wins 1 , Losses 7, Draws 0

Match No.16: Force v Hurricanes
Date : nib Stadium, Perth
Venue : Friday 27 February 2015
Kick Off local: 19:40 local, 22:00 AEDT, 00:00* NZDT, 13:00 SAST
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Graham Cooper
TMO : George Ayoub


Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Steve Mafi* , 6. Angus Cottrell , 7. Brynard Stander , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Zack Holmes , 11. Marcel Brache , 12. Solomoni Jnr Rasolea , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Luke Burton

Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Oliver Hoskins , 19. Rory Walton , 20. Kane Koteka** , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Sias Ebersohn , 23. Mitchell Scott ,

* denotes Western Force/Super Rugby starting debut
** denotes Western Force/Super Rugby debut


1. Reggie Goodes,2. Dane Coles (c),3. Ben Franks,4. Blade Thomson,5. James Broadhurst,6. Ardie Savea,7. Brad Shields,8. Victor Vito,9. Chris Smiley,10. Beauden Barrett,11. Julian Savea,12. Ma’a Nonu,13. Rey Lee-Lo,14. Cory Jane,15. James Marshall

Replacements : 16. Brayden Mitchell,17. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen,18. Chris Eves,19. Mark Abbott,20. Callum Gibbins,21. TJ Perenara,22. Matt Proctor,23. Nehe Milner-Skudder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.