Exeter Chiefs upset Bath at Sandy Park

Ollie Devoto has agreed a move from Bath to Exeter Chiefs

Exeter Chiefs claimed another victory over one of the big Aviva Premiership teams when they beat Bath 16-6 at Sandy Park on Saturday.

A late try saw Exeter emerge narrow victors following a real arm-wrestle of a match.

The visitors headed into the game looking to break a three-match run of defeats, while the Chiefs were aiming to make it a third win on the trot.

Tom Homer put Bath in front after just five minutes after Exeter were penalised at the scrum and following an eagerly contested opening exchange.

Henry Slade levelled shortly after following a TMO decision, and it remained at 3-3 until the closing stages of the first half, when Homer stepped up to hammer over a second penalty following a chaotic passage of play in midfield.

It was just as tight after the break, with neither side able to take the contest by the scruff of the neck.

Slade quickly put the Chiefs back on level terms after a Bath infringement, and with just 12 minutes remaining he edged the hosts in front for the first time.

The penalty was awarded following an intense period of pressure from Exeter, who were easing further into the ascendancy as the game progressed.

And the Chiefs got their rewards, and the match-clinching try just six minutes later, when they punished Bath for failing to find touch with a penalty.

A stirring break downfield was followed by a series of probing drives at the Bath try-line and an eventual breakthrough under the posts by Will Chudley.

Slade added the conversion to put ten points between the two teams – and not enough time on the clock for the visitors to mount a comeback.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 16 (3) Bath 6 (6)


Exeter Chiefs
Tries – Chudley
Pen – Slade (3)
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – Homer (2)
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee :Dean Richards (79th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Tom Foley and Paul Burton
TMO: Geoff Warren.


Exeter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman, 14 Matt Jess, 13 Ian Whitten, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Tom James, 10 Henry Slade, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Don Armand, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (c), 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Carl Rimmer

Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Brett Sturgess, 18 Alex Brown, 19 Mitch Lees, 20 Ben White, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 Byron McGuigan


15 Tom Homer, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Sam Burgess, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Ollie Devoto, 9 Micky Young, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Carl Fearns, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Stuart Hooper (c), 3 Kane Palma-Newport, 3 Kane Palma-Newport, 2 Ross Batty, 1 Nick Auterac

Replacements: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Beno Obano, 18 Max Lahiff, 19 Alafoti Faosiliva, 20 Matt Garvey, 21 Chris Cook, 22 Rory Jennings, 23 Luke Arscott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.