England unchanged for Rugby World Cup opener

Ben Youngs (R) will win his 50th international cap

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has retained the team that beat Ireland
in the warm ups for their Rugby World Cup opening match against Fiji.

The only change to the match day 23 is on the replacements’ bench with
Rob Webber (Bath Rugby) replacing Jamie George (Saracens).

Scrumhalf Ben Youngs retains his place in the starting line up ahead of Richard
Wigglesworth on the replacements bench.

Leicester Tigers scrum-half Youngs will win his 50th cap for England in the
Rugby World Cup tournament opener after winning his first cap in 2010.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “The squad is massively excited
to start the World Cup. Everyone has worked incredibly hard over the last three
months and we are ready.

“Friday will be a great occasion for the whole squad and for the country.
We are in a unique position to be playing in a World Cup on home soil and to
have the support of a nation behind the team. That support will be a massive
factor and we don’t underestimate its importance.

“All the players have put their hand up in training and the internationals
we have played this summer and we are blessed to have such a strong squad to
select from against a skilful and powerful Fijian side.

“I’d like to congratulate Ben Youngs on his achievement. To win
50 caps for your country in such a relatively short period of time is testament
to Ben’s dedication and commitment.”


15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 39 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)
12 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 23 caps)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 16 caps)
10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 49 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 33 caps)
2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 24 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 52 caps)
4 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 25 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 40 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 38 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 39 caps)
8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 29 caps)
16 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 23 caps)
18 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 12 caps)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 24 caps)
20 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 20 caps)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 23 caps)
22 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 31 caps)
23 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.