England start Harrison against Australia

Teimana Harrison will start for James Haskell

England head coach Eddie Jones has named Northampton Saints’ back-row forward Teimana Harrison in his starting team to play Australia.

Harrison made his England debut last month against Wales and comes into the side as a replacement for James Haskell (Wasps) who has not recovered from a foot injury in time for the final Test at Allianz Park.

England have won the first two tests in the series and are attempting a clean sweep of victories which would extend their unbeaten run under Jones to nine matches.

“You have to work extremely hard to earn an England cap so there was no temptation to make changes for the sake of change,” said England Head Coach Jones.

“To play for England you have to be in the best 23 and that’s what this selection represents.

“Teimana comes into the side at seven for James Haskell whose foot hasn’t quite recovered from Saturday. Teimana has trained well throughout the tour and deserves his spot.

“He’s an excellent defender and his robustness will be important to us at the start of the game. Jack Clifford is unlucky to miss out, but will finish the game for us.”

Jones said that although England have already won the series they will not be easing off this weekend in Sydney.

“We’ve treated this week like a dress rehearsal for the World Cup because that what we’re always building towards. To win a World Cup you have to win three big games in a row – we’ve won two so this third game is the most important game we’ll play all year. It will be a good indication of where we are as a team.

“We’re looking forward to playing in front of a full house at Allianz Stadium on Saturday and we are confident we can finish the job off with a win.”


15. Mike Brown ,14. Anthony Watson,13. Jonathan Joseph ,12. Owen Farrell ,11. Jack Nowell ,10. George Ford,9. Ben Youngs  ,8. Billy Vunipola,  7. Teimana Harrison ,6. Chris Robshaw ,5. George Kruis ,4. Maro Itoje ,3. Dan Cole,2. Dylan Hartley (c) ,1. Mako Vunipola

Replacements : 16. Jamie George,17. Matt Mullan ,18. Paul Hill ,19. Joe Launchbury ,20. Courtney Lawes ,21. Jack Clifford ,22. Danny Care,23. Elliot Daly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.