England make one change for France decider

England have named a team with one change to the side that beat Scotland for their final Six Nations deciding match against France at Twickenham.

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has promoted Leicester Tigers lock Geoff Parling for Dave Attwood to strengthen the line out.

Attwood drops out of the England match day squad completely and his spot on the replacements bench is taken up by Nick Easter.

Prop Dan Cole will win his 50th cap for England when he takes to the field after making his debut against Wales in February 2010.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said,”It’s a great achievement for Dan to win his 50th cap, especially coming back from his injury last year. He is one of the cornerstones of our squad and we all wish him all the best.

“Geoff did well off the bench against Scotland and now that he has got some games under his belt we feel it is the right time to start him and use his experience and quality in the starting line-up.

“The same goes for Nick Easter, who has really impressed in camp and with his appearances off the bench in the second row. He is a quality ball carrier and great defender – something we feel we will need in the latter stages of the game.”

“Finishing off the tournament at home is going to be a great occasion,” the England Head Coach continued.

“The support against Scotland last week was fantastic and this week we really need the crowd to get behind the team and drive them forward this weekend in what will be an exciting finale to this year’s Championship.”

Currently, England are on top of the table by virtue of a superior points difference (plus 37) to Ireland (plus 33) and Wales (plus 12). However, that will no doubt change before kick-off at Twickenham.

Should both lose, France will have a chance to take the tournament by beating England.

Following a 25-13 triumph in a fast-paced Calcutta Cup clash last weekend though, Lancaster’s charges can feel confident.


Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Luther Burrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Ben Youngs, Billy Vunipola, Chris Robshaw (capt), James Haskell, Courtney Lawes, Geoff Parling, Dan Cole, Dylan Hartley, Joe Marler

Replacements: Tom Youngs, Mako Vunipola, Kieran Brookes, Nick Easter, Tom Wood, Richard Wigglesworth, Danny Cipriani, Billy Twelvetrees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.