Cooper returns as Wallabies make six changes

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has named his team to play New Zealand’s
All Blacks in Bledisloe Cup decider in Auckland and made six changes for the

Cheika has rotated his squad and brought in Quade Cooper and Matt Toomua for
Bernard Foley and Matt Giteau in the midfield, while Will Skelton switches with
Dean Mumm to start the match with James Horwill in the second row.

Brumbies Nic White and Henry Speight alongside Waratahs number 8 Wycliff Palu
have all been named in the run-on side for the first time in 2015.

Kane Douglas will also play his first match for the Wallabies since 2013 from
the bench, after returning from Ireland on a long-term contract with the Australian
Rugby Union.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said: “We know this week will
be another huge challenge for the team and our biggest test to date, and we
need to improve again on what we’ve produced in our previous matches.

“Wycliff, Henry and Kane have all worked hard for this opportunity and
have brought a lot of energy to the group this week.”

Wallabies backrower David Pocock will celebrate his milestone 50th Test for
Australia from the reserves bench; a monumental feat for the 27 year-old, who
missed the last two international seasons due to injury.

Pocock reaches the 50-game mark in his eighth season of Test Rugby, having
made his international debut for Australia off the bench against New Zealand
in Hong Kong in 2008.

Chieka was full of praise for Pocock, who has been one of the Wallabies’
best in 2015.

“David has had to overcome some hurdles with regards to injury to reach
this milestone but the way in which he’s got there through perseverance
and a lot of hard work and patience is a great measure of his character.

“He has been one of our best players this season, and the respect he
commands from his teammates and peers is a testament to the way he approaches
the game.

“He knows that he will play a pivotal part in closing the match on Saturday
night, and I expect he will put in a performance that all of Australia will
be proud of.”


1. Scott Sio ,
2. Stephen Moore, C ,
3. Sekope Kepu ,
4. Will Skelton ,
5. James Horwill ,
6. Scott Fardy ,
7. Michael Hooper, VC ,
8. Wycliff Palu ,
9. Nic White ,
10. Quade Cooper ,
11. Henry Speight ,
12. Matt Toomua ,
13. Tevita Kuridrani ,
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper, VC ,
15. Israel Folau

Replacements: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 17. James Slipper , 18. Greg Holmes ,
19. Dean Mumm , 20. Kane Douglas , 21. David Pocock , 22. Matt Giteau , 23.
Kurtley Beale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.