Chiefs put Wales to the sword

Stephen 'Beaver' Donald slips off a Wales tackle

Two time Super Rugby champions the Chiefs outclassed Wales side 40-7 in a historic mid-week match at FMG Stadium in Hamilton on Tuesday.

The Chiefs outscored Wales by six tries to one after leading 21-0 at half time.

Having been kept scoreless in the opening half Wales changed tactics chose to hold on to the ball more and several times went beyond 15 phases but were ultimately they were still outscored by three tries to one in the second half.

Wales’ preparations for the match were hampered by injuries but this led to regular captain Sam Warburton starting the match and star No.8 Toby Faletau being named on the replacements bench.

The Chiefs contested the match without eight of their All Blacks who were away on national duty.

Wales will now move to Wellington as they face the All Blacks in the second of three Tests on Saturday while the Chiefs next match is in Suva, Fiji against the Crusaders on July 1.

More to follow.

Final Score Chiefs 40 (21) Wales 7 (0) 


Tries – B.Weber, T.Sanders, D.Bird, J.Lowe. T.Pulu, S. McNicol
Pen –
Con – S.Donald 4, A. Lienert-Brown
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – K.Dacey
Pen –
Con – R.Priestland
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee : Mike Fraser
TMO : Shane McDermott


1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Rhys Marshall , 3. Hiroshi Yamashita, 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Michael Allardice , 6. Mitchell Brown* 7. Lachlan Boshier , 8. Tom Sanders, 9. Brad Weber, 10. Stephen Donald, (c) 11. Sam Vaka , 12. Andrew Horrell , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Toni Pulu, 15. James Lowe

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18. Atu Moli , 19. Taleni Seu, 20. Tevita Koloamatangi, 21. Kayne Hammington , 22. Sam McNicol , 23. Latu Vaeno


Matthew Morgan (Bristol Rugby), Eli Walker (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tom James (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby) Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues), James King (Ospreys).

Replacements: Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Patchell (Cardiff Blues).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.