Chiefs beat Crusaders in Hamilton

 Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Chiefs and the Crusaders the Hamilton based Chiefs have won three and the Crusaders two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Aaron Cruden kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: Tim Taylor is tackled in the air by Michael Fitzgerald so the TMO is called. There is also a review of a small fight between two front rowers Aggressive start. The Crusaders get a penalty and Colin Slade will kick for posts. 

2.00: Slade takes the kick from inside his half and nails it. 

4.00: The Crusaders work the ball to the Chiefs line. They press forward but the Chiefs hold on. 

5.00: The Crusaders win a penalty after a period of pressure in the Chiefs 22. They win a penalty. Dominant start from the Crusaders. Slade will kick for posts. 

6.00; Slade takes the kick and nails it. 

7.00:The TMO is called in for a tackle on Scott Barrett by James Lowe in the air. Lowe is yellow carded and the Crusaders have a penalty and they choose the line out. 

10.00: Brodie Retallick leaves the field for the Chiefs after falling awkwardly. Johan Bardoul comes on. 

12.00: The Chiefs are a man down but Aaron Cruden makes a break which gets them rolling forward. After several players pass the ball Sonny Bill Williams bashes over. TRY! 

13.00: Aaron Cruden’s conversion is well off. Nafi Tuitavake comes on for the Crusaders replacing Robbie Fruean. 

14.00: Penalty to the Crusaders. Slade will kick for posts from 39m out. 

15.00: Slade takes the kick but misses this one. 

17.00: Nepo Laulala comes off for a blood bin. Alex Hodgman is on. 

18.00: Penalty to the Chiefs from the scrum. Cruden will take a shot at the posts. 

19.00: Cruden lines up the kick and he misses. James Lowe comes back on. While he was off the Chiefs scored 5 points. 

20.00: Matt Todd is yellow carded for a tackle in the air. Chiefs kick for touch. 

21.00: The Chiefs win the line and out drive for the line. They get to the posts and Augustine Pulu slips off the side of the maul and scores. TRY! 

22.00: Cruden adds the conversion from in front. Chiefs lead. 

25.00: Penalty to the Crusaders (Messam). Colin Slade takes the kick and nails it. 

26.00: Andy Ellis comes on for the Crusaders replacing Mitchell Drummond. The Chiefs have a penalty for an illegal tackle. They kick for touch. 

28.00: Richie McCaw gets some attention for blood from the medics after a head clash. He comes off. 

29.00: The Chiefs attack the Crusaders in their 22. They win a penalty for hands in the ruck. A bit of a fight breaks out but then dies down. Cruden lines up the kick and nails it. 

32.00: McCaw comes back on for the Crusaders. The Chiefs kick and chase, Tom Taylor gets back but at the ruck he loses the ball to Sam Cane and a big pass goes out to Sonny Bill who sets up Charlie Ngatai who goes over and scores. TRY! 

34.00: Cruden adds the conversion. 

35.00: Scrum penalty to the Chiefs against Crockett. Cruden kicks for touch. 

36.00: The Chiefs win the ball from the line out but the Crusaders turn the ball over. They attack and made a little ground before winning a penalty. Ellis takes the quick tap. 

38.00: Crusaders get the ball up to the Chefs 22. The Chiefs concede a penalty for offside at the ruck.

39.00: Slade’s penalty kick goes wide. 

40.00: The siren sounds but the ball goes dead so it’s half time. 

The half time score was Chiefs 22 Crusaders 9

The 18 point half-time margin for the Chiefs is their biggest against the Crusaders at home since 2008.

The Crusaders kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: The Crusaders are looking to hold on to the ball early on. Liam Messam takes a knock but carries on after a head knock with Ben Tameifuna. The Crusaders win a penalty they kick for touch. 

43.00: The Crusaders win the line out and Funnell races down the touchline but gets shoved into touch. 

44.00: The Crusaders work the ball to the Chiefs tryline. They get to 1m out and Andy Ellis sells a dummy and slips over for the TRY! 

45.00: Slade slots the conversion and the Crusaders are back in. Messam has gone for a concussion test. 

48.00: Penalty after restart to the Chiefs. Cruden takes the kick and nails it.

51.00: The Chiefs kick and chase and they get to the line. Tom Marshall rolls to the line and puts the ball down. The TMO checks to see if he has scored or if he is short. No try lost forward. 

54.00; The Chiefs win a penalty in front of the posts after a period of pressure. Cruden slots the penalty. 

60.00: The Chiefs continue to win the territory battle. They win a penalty so Cruden kicks for the corner and the line out. 

61.00: The Chiefs win the line out and go through several phases on attack 5m out. The Crusaders win a penalty. They take a quick tap  but the ball is turned over and Tom Marshall crashes over in the corner. The try is awarded. Bonus point TRY! 

62.00: Cruden takes the conversion kick from the corner but misses. 

65.00: The Crusaders go from side to side and the ball pops out for the Chiefs and Sonny Bill passes to James Lowe who races down the wing to score. TRY! 

67.00: Cruden takes the conversion and this one he nails. He is replaced. 

70.00: The Chiefs continue to press the Crusaders back in their half. It’s all the Chiefs. They do however knock on. 

75.00: Attendance is over 18000 in Waikato. The Chiefs continue to test the Crusaders in their half.

76.00: Referee Mike Fraser pauses the match to look at a tackle on Andy Ellis. Damian McKenzie is yellow carded for the tackle. 

77.00: The Crusaders attack but the Chiefs turn the ball over. 

80.00: The siren sounds and so does the whistle. 

The full time score is Chiefs 40 (22) Crusaders 16 (9)


Tries – SB Williams, A.Pulu, C.Ngatai, T.Marshall, J.Lowe 
Pen – A.Cruden 3
Con – A.Cruden 3
Drop –
Cards – J.Lowe (7th min yellow), D. McKenzie (77th min yellow)

Tries – A.Ellis
Pen – C.Slade 3
Con – C.Slade
Drop –
Cards – M.Todd (20th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Shane McDermott
TMO : Ben Skeen



1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Michael Fitzgerald , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Liam Messam (c)    , 9. Augustine Pulu , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. James Lowe , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Charlie Ngatai , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Quentin MacDonald* , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Mitchell Graham** , 19. Johan Bardoul , 20. Sean Polwart , 21. Brad Weber , 22. Damian McKenzie , 23. Seta Tamanivalu

*Chiefs debutants
** Super Rugby Debut


1 Wyatt Crockett , 2 Ben Funnell 3 Nepo Laulala , 4 Luke Romano , 5 Scott Barrett , 6 Richie McCaw , 7 Matt Todd (c) , 8 Jordan Taufua, 9 Mitchell Drummond , 10 Colin Slade ,11 Johnny McNicholl ,12 Ryan Crotty ,13 Kieron Fonotia , 14 Robbie Fruean , 15 Tom Taylor

Replacements : 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Joe Moody , 18 Alex Hodgman , 19 Jimmy Tupou , 20 Luke Whitelock, 21 Andy Ellis , 22 Nathaniel Apa , 23 Nafi Tuitavake

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.