Canada name 31-man Rugby World Cup squad

Canada coach Kieran Crowley has named Ospreys back row Tyler Ardron as captain
of Canada’s 31-man squad for the Rugby World Cup next month.

Backrower Ardron missed Canada’s 41-23 loss to nited States in Ottawa on Saturday
because of a knee injury.

In Ardron’s place on Saturday Aaron Carpenter deputised but was unable to prevent
third straight loss to the Eagles for the Canadians.

But Canadian officials are confident the Wales-based 24-year-old will be fit
to lead Canada at the World Cup, where they face Ireland, Italy, France and
Romania in the group phase.

Former All Black Crowley said he was confident the youthful Ardron would cope
with the demands of the captaincy in what will be his debut World Cup, noting
that he had skippered Ospreys at various times last season.

“Tyler is part of the leadership group at Ospreys and captained them during
the Six Nations this year,” Crowley said.

“He’s young but will call on the experience of Jamie Cudmore, Aaron Carpenter,
Hubert Buydens and DTH Van Der Merwe, who all have World Cup experience, to
help provide leadership.”

Although Ardron will have experienced team-mates to rely on, 18 members of
Canada’s squad will be playing in a World Cup for the first time.

France-based forward Cudmore will be playing in his fourth World Cup at the
age of 36, only the fifth Canadian in history to reach the milestone.

Carpenter and Van Der Merwe will be playing in their third World Cup.

Canada head into the World Cup after a disappointing run of results, which
included a winless campaign in the Pacific Nations Cup.

Canada Rugby World Cup squad

Forwards: Tyler Ardron (Captain), Ray Barkwill, Brett Beukeboom, Hubert Buydens,
Aaron Carpenter, Jamie Cudmore, Nanyak Dala, Kyle Gilmour, Jason Marshall, John
Moonlight, Evan Olmstead, Benoit Piffero, Djustice Sears-Duru, Jebb Sinclair,
Richard Thorpe, Andrew Tiedemann, Doug Wooldridge

Backs: Conor Trainor, Liam Underwood, DTH van der Merwe, Jeff Hassler, Ciaran
Hearn, Nathan Hirayama, Harry Jones, Phil Mack, Jamie Mackenzie, Phil Mackenzie,
Matt Evans, Nick Blevins, Connor Braid, Gordon McRorie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.