Bulls beat the Western Force in Pretoria

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Pretoria based Bulls and the Perth based Western Force the Bulls have won three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Sias Ebersohn kicks off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Bulls put the ball into touch after the start so the Force have a line out. The Force win the line out but knock on. 

2.00: The Bulls scrum collapses and has to be reset. 

3.00: On the second put in the Bulls win the scrum and then a penalty for illegal scrumming. Pollard kicks for touch. 

4.00: The Bulls win the line out and use the maul. They concede penalty for obstruction so the Force kick for touch. 

5.00: The Force win the line out and then at the breakdown the Bulls don’t release so the Force have a penalty. Mathewson takes a quick tap and makes ground but then there is a mix up and the ball goes to ground. 

7.00: Grant Hattingh is tackled in the air at the line out so the Bulls have a penalty. Pollard kicks for touch. 

9.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard takes the shot and nails it. The Bulls lead. 

11.00: The Bulls lose the ball in the tackle and a scrum for the Force is called inside the Bulls half. The Force win scrum and Adam Coleman slips through a hole and races for the line. He scores. TRY! 

12.00: Luke Burton takes the conversion kick and nails it. 

14.00: Penalty to the Bulls near the half way line. Pollard lines up the kick and nails it. 

16.00:Luke Morahan has a run for the Force and dodges several tackles but is eventually brought down. The Force keep the ball alive but the Bulls defend ably. 

18.00: Sias Ebersohn tries a drop goal but misses. 

21.00: Penalty to the Force for illegal binding by the Bulls in the scrum (Marcel van der Merwe). The Force will kick for posts.  

22.00: Burton takes the kick but misses.

25.00: Marcel Brache makes a break but is caught, Coleman knocks on. The pitch is breaking up causing some of the players to slip. 

27.00: The Force are doing most of the playing so far. The Bulls win a penalty as Kane Koteka was offside when Brache tried a chip kick. Bulls kick for touch. 

33.00:The Bulls earn a penalty. Pollard takes the kick and nails it. 

34.00: The Bulls win another penalty – hands in the ruck. Pollard kicks for the corner. 

37.00: The Bulls win a line out and Jan Serfontein tries to get through the Force but he is stopped and Luke Morahan wins a penalty for the Force. They kick for touch. 

39.00: Hands in the ruck again for the Force. The Bulls have a penalty. 

40.03: Pollard lines up the kick at posts but misses. 

It’s half time. 

The half time score was Bulls 9 W.Force 7

The Bulls kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: The Force win a penalty as Stegmann was killing the ball. The Force will kick for posts. 

43.00; Burton takes the kick but hits the posts. The Force win the ball back and Sam Wykes scores! TRY! 

44.00: Burton gets another chance with the conversion. He nails this one. 

46.00; The Force concede a penalty and get a warning after the Bulls had made ground with a maul. 

47.00: The Bulls win the line out and set up a maul. Adam Coleman went around the mauls so he is yellow carded. The Bulls kick for touch and the line out again. The Force collapse the maul and the Bulls have another penalty. 

48.00: The Bulls win the line out. They set the maul and drive again. They go wide but lose the ball forward. Faulkner is yellow carded this time. 

49.00 : The Bulls continue to bang away at the Force who are down to 13 players. 

50.00: Marcel van der Merwe scores the TRY for the Bulls. 

51.00: Pollard’s conversion is good. Victor Matfield is on. 

53.00: Penalty to the Force. Burton will kick for posts. 

54.00: Burton takes the kick but misses. 

57.00: Penalty to the Force for illegal scrumming. They kick for touch. Coleman is back on so they have 14 players on the field. 

60.00: The Force have a scrum on the half way line after the Bulls knock the ball forward on attack. 

61.00: The Bulls win a penalty as the Force are “sealing off”. Pollard will kick for posts. 

62.00: Pollard takes the kick and nails it. 

65.00: The Bulls win a line out and use the maul. It collapses and becomes a ruck and the Force don’t roll away so they concede a penalty. Pollard lines up. 

67.00: Pollard slots the penalty extending the lead. 

68.00: The Bulls make a break down the side but Pierre Spies knocks on in the tackle. 

69.00: The Force win a line out on the Bulls 5 m line out. They use the maul but the Bulls collapse it so the Bulls get a warning and a penalty. They kick for touch. 

71.00: The Force win the line out and use the maul. It stops so the Force run at the Bulls. After a couple of recycles Kyle Godwin sees the line and races for it and scores. TRY 

72.00: Ebersohn takes the kick and nails it. 

73.00: There is a break in play for an injury. The game resumes. 

74.00: The Bulls win a line out and use the maul. The Force steal the ball and kick deep so Jesse Kriel kicks it back. 

77.00: Penalty to Force. Ebersohn takes the kick from way out. It JUST sneaks over. The Force lead. 

78.00: Handre Pollard is tackled beyond the horizontal so the Bulls have a penalty and Pollard will kick for posts to win the match. 

79.00: Pollard nails the penalty and the Bulls lead again.

80.0: The siren sounds. Thats it the Bulls win. 

The full time score is Bulls 25 (9) W.Force 24 (7) 


Tries – M.Van der Merwe
Pen – H.Pollard 6
Con – H.Pollard
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – A.Coleman, S.Wykes, K.Godwin
Pen – S.Ebersohn. 
Con – L.Burton 2, S.Ebersohn
Drop –
Cards – A.Coleman (46th min yellow), T.Faulkner (48th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Jason Jaftha
Assistant Ref 2:Pro Legoete
TMO : Shaun Veldsman



Jesse Kriel, Francois Hougaard, JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Handre Pollard, Rudy Paige, Pierre Spies (c), Lappies Labuschagne, Deon Stegmann, Grant Hattingh, Jacques du Plessis, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss , Dean Greyling

Replacements: Jaco Visagie , Morne Mellett , Trevor Nyakane , Victor Matfield, Arno Botha , Piet van Zyl , Tian Schoeman, Jurgen Visser

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Steve Mafi , 7. Kane Koteka , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Sias Ebersohn , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Luke Burton , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Marcel Brache , 15. Luke Morahan

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Oliver Hoskins/Guy Millar , 19. Wilhelm Steenkamp , 20. Angus Cottrell , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Zack Holmes , 23. Solomoni Jnr Rasolea

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.