Bulls beat Cheetahs in Bloemfontein

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Cheetahs and the Bulls the Bloemfontein based side have won one and lost four.

The Cheetahs lost Sarel Pretorius to injury earlier this morning so Tian Meyer starts and Shaun Venter comes on to the bench. 

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Joe Pietersen kicks off and we are underway. 

2.00: The Cheetahs make an early turnover but there is a knock on. The Cheetahs win the scrum and run at the Bulls in their 22. 

3.00: Stegmann concedes a penalty – beaten by the ruck – so Joe Pietersen lines up a penalty kick. He nails it. The Cheetahs lead. 

6.00: Raymond Rhule yellow carded after tackling Jesse Kriel in the air. 

7.00: The Bulls push the Cheetahs back over their tryline but Willie le Roux clears the ball. 

9.00: Penalty to the Bulls for a collapsed scrum. Handre Pollard will kick for posts. 

10.00: Pollard nails the kick and the scores are level. 

13.00: The Cheetahs win a line out just inside the Bullas half. They go through about 5 phases and the final pass from Tian Meyer is forward. Bulls scrum. 

16.00: The Bulls work the ball down into the Cheetahs 22. They go through 7 phases and get over the 5m line. 

18.00: The Bulls move the ball wide on the 11th phase and Pollard crashes over for the first TRY! He adds the conversion. 

20.00: The Cheetahs chip the ball through behind the Bulls but the Bulls defence gets back to save the try. The Bulls recycle and kick for touch but it misses touch and the Cheetahs attack. 

21.00: The Bulls stop the Cheetahs attack and Pollard kicks behind Hendricks. 

23.00: Both teams have made changes already. Tienie Burger on for the Cheetahs and Grant Hattingh on for the Bulls. 

24.00: The Bulls win a line out on the half way line. They run the ball but knock on.  

26.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard takes the shot at posts. He nails it.

28.00: After the restart the Cheetahs win a penalty. Joe Pietersen lines up the kick. 

29.00: Pietersen takes the kick and nails it. 

30.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs and a warning to both sides for tackling players in the air. The Cheetahs kick but the Bulls kick it back. The Cheetahs dot it down for a 22 drop out. 

31.00: The Bulls make a break (Adriaan Strauss) and they get the Cheetahs on the backfoot scrambling as they go wide to Bjorn Basson who scores in the corner. TRY!

32.00: Pollard slots the conversion. 

37.00: The Cheetahs knock on giving the Bulls a scrum inside their half. 

38.00: The scrum has to be reset. The Bulls win the scrum and run at the Cheetahs. 

39.00: After a couple of recyles Handre Pollard slips through the Cheetahs defence thanks to an obstruction. Referee Stuart Berry totally misses it and awards a penalty to the Bulls. 

40.00: Pollard lines up the kick and nauls it extending the Bulls lead. 

The half time score was Cheetahs 6 Bulls 23

Handre Pollard kicks off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: The Cheetahs get the perfect start as Raymond Rhule dodges his way through the Bulls defence and races for the line to score. TRY! 

43.00: Pietersen adds the conversion. 

45.00: Stuart Berry awards the Cheetahs a penalty for a tackle in the air. Pietersen kicks for touch. 

49.00: The scrums are battling to complete so have to be reset. The Cheetahs win a free kick from the scrum so they tap and go. The Bulls defend the attack. 

52.00: The Bulls go through the phases on attack. At the breakdown the Cheetahs concede a penalty so the Bulls will kick for posts. 

53.00: Pollard slots the penalty. 

55.00: The Bulls try to run the ball but Grant Hattingh knocks on. 

57.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs from the scrum. They kick for touch.

58.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty from the lineout. They choose another line out. They win the line out and maul over the line and Boom Prinsloo scores. TRY!

59.00; Pietersen takes the conversion kick from the touchline and nails it perfectly. 

62.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Pollard slots the kick. 

64.00: The Bulls work the ball into the Cheetahs half. The Cheetahs defend well so Handre Pollard takes a shot with a drop goal and nails it. Thats a full house for Pollard. 

67.00: The Cheetahs win a penalty from a maul. Pietersen kicks for touch. 

69.00: Stuatrt Berry talks to Francois Uys about killing the ball. The Bulls win a penalty and kick for touch. 

71.00: The Bulls win the line out and move the ball down the line to Jan Serfontein who powers over to score. TRY ! 

71.00: Pollard slots the conversion. 

74.00: The Cheetahs try to attack but the Bulls intercept the pass. The Bulls lose control of the ball and Willie le Roux almost gets away witth the ball but it goes into touch. 

76.00: The Cheetahs string together 13 phases on attack but then they lose the ball. 

78.00: The Cheetahs continue to bash away at the Bulls. 

The Bulls hold on until the Cheetahs knock on. Thats it the siren sounds. 

The Bulls have won. 

The full time score is Cheetahs 20 (6) Bulls 39 (23)


Tries – R.Rhule, B.Prinsloo
Pen – J.Pietersen 2
Con – J.Pietersen 2
Drop –
Cards -R. Rhule (6th min yellow)

Tries – H.Pollard, B.Basson, J.Serfontein
Pen – H.Pollard 5
Con – H.Pollard 3
Drop – H.Pollard
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Lourens van der Merwe
TMO : Johan Greeff



1 Danie Mienie, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 4 Carl Wegner, 5 Francois Uys (C ), 6 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 8 Jean Cook, 9 Tian Meyer,(VC), 10 Joe Petersen, 11 Raymond Rhule, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 13 Francois Venter, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 15 Willie le Roux

Replacements : 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. BG Uys, 18. Maks van Dyk, 19. Tienie Burger, 20. Steven Sykes, 21. Shaun Venter 22. Willie du Plessis, 23. Johann Sadie


Jesse Kriel, Bjorn Basson, JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein, Francois Hougaard, Handre Pollard, Rudy Paige, Pierre Spies (c), Lappies Labuschagne, Deon Stegmann, Victor Matfield , Jacques du Plessis , Trevor Nyakane , Adriaan Strauss, Morne Mellett

Replacements: Callie Visagie, Dean Greyling, Marcel van der Merwe, Grant Hattingh, Hanro Liebenberg, Tian Schoeman, Piet van Zyl, Jurgen Visser.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.