Brumbies beat Reds in Brisbane

 Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Brisbane based Reds and the Canberra based Brumbies the Queensland side have won one match.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Brumbies kick off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Reds get penalised for not releasing. 

2.00: The Brumbies push the Reds back into their 22 but they knock on. 

3.00: Penalty to the Brumbies for collapsing the scrum on their put in. The Brumbies will kick for posts. 

4.00: Christian Leallifano takes the penalty kick but misses. 

7.00:Penalty to the Reds from the scrum. 

8.00: The Reds kick for touch but fail to find it. The Brumbies counter attack. 

9.00: The Reds turn the ball over and Genia chips high and chases. The Brumbies get the ball and kick it away. 

10.00: After a spell of kicking to and fro Nic White’s clearance kick is charged down and goes into touch. The Brumbies win the line out and eventually clear the ball. Possession so far is 82% Brumbies. 

14.00: The Reds try to run the ball and rookie Campbell Magnay gets flattened in a tackle. They do however win a penalty for leaving the feet. 

15.00: The Reds win a line out and work the ball into the Brumbies 22. They win another penalty and kick for the corner. 

18.00:The Reds try to attack but get pushed into touch. The Brumbies win a line out and run at the Reds. They get into the Reds 22 and keep the ball moving. 

19.00: Matt Toomua almost gets through but they keep the ball alive and Stephen Moore slips over – TRY!  

21.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion but misses. 

24.00: The Reds turn the ball over from a Brumbies attack. They move the ball across the field but then lose it and it goes into touch. 

26.00: The Brumbies get the ball up to the Reds tryline. They pick and go for the line and are initially held out but then Ben Alexander goes over and scores. TRY! 

27.00: Lealiifano misses the conversion again. 

32.00: There is a short break in play for Matt Toomua. The game resumes with a Reds line out which they win but then get closed down by the Brumbies. 

36.00: Penalty to the Brumbies from the scrum. They kick for touch. The Brumbies line out is not straight so we have a scrum for the Reds. 

37.00: Penalty to the Reds. Frisby signals that they will kick for posts.

38.00: Frisby takes the kick but misses.  The Brumbies kick deep to clear but the Reds boot it back. 

40.00: Robbie Coleman kicks the ball into touch as the siren sounds. 

It’s half time. 

The half time score was Reds 0 Brumbies 10

The Reds kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

41.00: The Reds win a penalty so Frisby lines up the kick but misses. 

44.00: The Reds win a penalty from a scrum. They kick for touch. 

46.00: The Brumbies win the ball from their line out and they work it to the line. They get to the 5m line and Ben Alexander pops through a hole and dives over the ruck and scores. Or does he? We go to the TMO.  Liam Gill is yellow carded for a dangerous tackle on Nic White and Alexander’s try is awarded. TRY! 

46.00: Lealiifano slots the conversion. 

48.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. They kick for touch. 

50.00; The Brumbies run the ball and Ben Alexander passes to the backs and  James Dargaville goes over but is held up. James Horwill has to come off after an accidental knee to the head. Brumbies 5m scrum. 

53.00: The Brumbies win a short arm penalty from the scrum and they ask for another scrum. 

54.00:The Brumbies scrum again crushes the Red scrum earning them another penalty. They choose another scrum. 

55.00: The Brumbies scrum wheels and the ref says “Angling in” and another penalty. The Brumbies choose another scrum. Horwill comes back on from the concussion test. 

56.00: The Reds have changed their front row as Sef Faagase comes on but it still collapses. We have another scrum. 

57.00: The scrum completes and the Brumbies move the ball to the posts. They go wide and Ita Vaea bashes over for the bonus point TRY! 

58.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion kick but again misses. 

62.00: The Brumbies work the ball back into the Reds 22. They get to the 5m line and they have the advantage after 5 phases. The Brumbies get the penalty and Moore takes the tap but is stopped. The Brumbies recycle and go wide. 

63.00: Tevita Kuridrani comes flying in for the Brumbies but knocks on in the tackle. The Reds defence hangs on. 

67.00: The Brumbies are bringing some of their replacements on now as they feel the match is safe. 

68.00: The Reds enjoy their best attacking spell as they start to gain ground going through 9 phases inside the Brumbies half. 

71.00: The Brumbies absorb the pressure from the Reds and start to work the ball back into the Reds half. 

72.00: The Reds are sloppy with the ball and Christian Lealiifano picks up a bouncing ball and runs to the line and scores. TRY!

73.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion. 

76.00: The Reds get some momentum and work the ball into the Brumbies 22. They go through five phases on attack and get to about 10m out. They kick wide and Campbell Magnay gets within inches but is short. The Reds win a penalty. 

79.00: The Reds win the scrum and attack the Brumbies but they hold on and turn the ball over and kick it out as the siren sounds. 

Thats it the Brumbies have won. 

The full time score is Reds 0 (0) Brumbies 29 (10)


Tries –
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards – L.Gill (46th min yellow)

Tries – S.Moore, B.Alexander 2, I.Vaea, C.Lealiifano
Pen –
Con – C.Lealiifano 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 1:Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 2:Damien Mitchelmore
TMO : George Ayoub


Queensland Reds

1. James Slipper (C) , 2. Saia Fainga’a , 3. Sam Talakai , 4. Marco Kotze , 5. James Horwill , 6. Adam Thomson , 7. Liam Gill , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Will Genia , 10. Nick Frisby , 11. Campbell Magnay , 12. Anthony Fainga’a , 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 14. Chris Kuridrani , 15. Ben Tapuai

Replacements : 16. James Hanson , 17. Ben Daley , 18. Sef Faagase , 19. Dave McDuling , 20. Curtis Browning , 21. Scott Gale , 22. Sam Johnson , 23. Tom Banks (potential Super Rugby debut)


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Rory Arnold , 5. Sam Carter, 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Jarrad Butler, 8. Ita Vaea, 9. Nic White, 10. Matt Toomua, 11. Joe Tomane, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Henry Speight, 15. Robbie Coleman

Replacements: 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Ruan Smith, 18. JP Smith, 19. Jordan Smiler, 20. Blake Enever, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Lausii Taliauli, 23. James Dargaville

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.