Bonus point Chiefs cruise to victory over Kings

Damien McKenzie scores a try for the Chiefs

Two time Super Rugby champions the Chiefs got their 2016 campaign back on track by beating the Southern Kings 24-58 in Port Elizabeth.

The Chiefs opened their Super Rugby campaign with a victory over the Crusaders in Christchurch but were then beaten last week at their Hamilton home by Johannesburg’s Lions.

The Southern Kings have played just two matches – as they had a bye last week – but have yet to win a match this year.

The victory is the first time that a New Zealand team has earned the try bonus point under the new rules implemented for this season.

The Chiefs outscored the Kings by seven tries to two which moves them to the top of the New Zealand Conference.

The Chiefs fly to Argentina now as they play the Jaguares in Buenos Aires next week and the Southern Kings head the opposite way to New Zealand where they will face seven time champions the Crusaders.

Damien McKenzie was named man of the match and the official attendance figure was 7768.

More to follow.

Final Score Southern Kings 24 (17) Chiefs 58 (27)


Southern Kings
Tries – E. Marutlulle 2
Pen – L.Fouche 4
Con – L.Fouche
Drop –
Cards – M.Bezuidenhout (68th min yellow)

Tries – S.Cane 2, D.McKenzie, T.Seu, C.Ngatai, A.Cruden, G.Fisiiahi
Pen – D.McKenzie 3
Con – D.McKenzie 7
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Rodney Bonaparte
TMO :Johan Greeff


Southern Kings

15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Luzuko Vulindlu, 13. Stefan Watermeyer, 12. Shane Gates, 11. Malcolm Jaer, 10. Louis Fouche, 9. Ntando Kebe, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Thembelani Bholi, 6. Chris Cloete, 5. John Charles Astle, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jacobie Adriaanse, 2. Edgar Marutlulle, 1. Schalk Ferreira

Replacments : 16. Sithembiso (Sti) Sithole, 17. Martin Bezuidenhout, 18. Tom Botha, 19. Schalk Oelofse, 20. Cyril-John Velleman, 21. Kevin Luiters, 22. Elgar Watts, 23. Jaco van Tonder


1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Rhys Marshall , 3. Siate Tokolahi , 4. Michael Allardice , 5. Johan Bardoul , 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane (cc) , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Charlie Ngatai , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Glen Fisiiahi , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Atu Moli** , 19. James Tucker** , 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Anton Lienert-Brown , 23. Sam McNicol*

*denotes Chiefs debut
**denotes Super Rugby debutant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.