Blue Bulls step up to beat Griquas in Currie Cup

The Blue Bulls secured a 36-12 Currie Cup victory over Griquas at Loftus Versfeld
on Friday after coming being behind at half time.

While the Bulls were unable to string more than three passes together in the
first 40 minutes, they were switched on during the second-half and went on to
score the bonus pint try with two minutes remaining on the clock.

Griquas capitalised on the lacklustre performance the Bulls dished up in the
first stanza and scored the opening try of the match in the 10 minute when centre
Ruhan Nel intercepted.

The ‘Peacock Blues’ scored again before the break when Ntabeni
Dukisa stepped past Travis Ismael to take his team’s total to 12 after
the conversion.

In contrast, the Blue Bulls had only two penalties to show for their poor display.

But Loftus is their fortress and the men in light blue were always going to
come out stronger in the second-half.

Griquas enjoyed a six-point lead as the players headed into the tunnel, but
Tian Schoeman levelled scores in the 57th minute when he converted his second
penalty of the half (fourth of the match) with ease.

This gave the Bulls the momentum they needed and replacement Dayan van der
Westhuizen opened the proverbial floodgates with a breakaway score that left
the visitors without response.

With the home side playing to their potential, Griquas were unable to add to
their total during the second half and instead were on the receiving end of
a brilliant display of running rugby.

Francois Hougaard, Schoeman and Jamba Ulengo scored tries for the Blue Bulls
who will have to reflect on their first-half showing that will give opposing
sides some food for thought as the tournament progresses.

Final Score Blue Bulls 36 (6) Griquas 12 (12)


Blue Bulls
Tries: Dayan van der Westhuizen, Tian Schoeman, Francois Hougaard, Jamba Ulengo.

Conversions: Tian Schoeman(2).
Penalties: Tian Schoeman (4).

Tries: Ruhan Nel, Ntabeni Dukisa.
Conversion: Gouws Prinsloo


Blue Bulls

15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Burger Odendaal,
11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Hanro Liebenberg,
7 Lappies Labuschagne (c), 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Jacques du Plessis,
3 Werner Kruger, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.

Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 RG Snyman, 19
Roelof Smit, 20 Ivan van Zyl, 21 Louis Fouche, 22 Dries Swanepoel.


15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Johnathan Francke, 12 Michael van der Spuy,
11 Ntabeni Dukisa, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Tian Meyer (c), 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Hilton
Lobberts, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jonathan Adendorf, 3 Stephan Kotze,
2 AJ le Roux, 1 Danie Mienie.

Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 18 Jaco
Nepgen, 19 Leon Karemaker, 20 Rudi van Rooyen, 21 Clinton Swart, 22 Jacquin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.