Bath ease to victory over Bristol

South African fly-half Butch James starred with the boot as Bath ran out 20-33 victors over bitter rivals Bristol at Memorial stadium in the Guinness Premiership on Sunday.

Former New Zealand flanker Andrew Blowers went over for the first try of the match in only the third minute.


Fly-half Adrian Jarvis was successful with the extra two points. The lead however lasted just ten minutes as James put Bath on the board with a penalty.

A try from Joe Maddock then put the visitors ahead for the first time in the match. James got the conversion to take the score to 7-10.

Jarvis then replied on twenty minutes with a penatly to make the scores level at 10-10. Ten minutes before the break centre Tom Cheesman crashed over for Bath’s second five-pointer of the day.

With just three minutes remaining in the opening period, winger David Lemi went over for Bristol’s second try. The conversion made the scores level at half time.

Two quick penalties in the second half from James then put the visitors ahead by six before Jarvis reduced the lead to just three points.

Just prior to the hour mark, James punished the opposition with a fourth penalty before number eight Jonny Fa’amatuainu went darting over for the club’s third try.


The conversion from James made it 20-33 which effectively sealed the match for Bath Rugby.


Final Score Bristol 20 Bath 33




Tries – Andrew Blowers, David Lemi
Pen – Adrian Jarvis (2)
Con – Adrian Jarvis (2)


Tries – Maddock, Cheeseman, Faamatuainu
Pen – Butch James (4)
Con – Butch James (2)



Bristol: Luke Arscott; Tom Arscott, Junior Fatialofa, Kevin Maggs, David Lemi; Adrian Jarvis, Haydn Thomas; Mark Irish, Scott Linklater, Jason Hobson; Nathan Budgett, Robert Sidoli; Andrew Blowers, Joe El Abd (capt), Dan Ward-Smith.

Replacements:David Blaney, Scott Linklater, Mariano Sambucetti, Redford Pennycook, Graeme Beveridge, Ed Barnes, Greg Barden

Bath : Nick Abendanon, Joe Maddock, Alex Crockett, Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, Matt Banahan, Butch James, Michael Claassens, David Barnes, Lee Mears, Matt Stevens, Justin Harrison, Peter Short, Stuart Hooper, Michael Lipman (Captain), Jonny Faamatuainu.

Replacements: Pieter Dixon, Duncan Bell, David Flatman, James Scaysbrook, Scott Bemand, Shaun Berne, Andrew Higgins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.