Australia vs S.Africa Rugby Championship Preview

Out of the last six Rugby Championship matches between Australia’s Wallabies
and South Africa’s Springboks the Australians have won two and South Africa
four.

Overall Australia have played South Africa 80 times in history and the Wallabies
have won 34 matches or 43% of their matches.

The average score when Australia play South Africa is Australia 17 South Africa
19.

Out if the 80 matches between the teams 35 of the matches have been played
on Australian soil as it will be this weekend when the teams meet in Brisbane.

In those 35 home matches for Australia the Wallabies have won 22 times, drawn
once and lost 12 times. That gives Australia a record of winning 63% of their
home matches against South Africa.

When these two nations meet on Australian soil the average score is Australia
21 South Africa 16.

This weekend the match will be played in Brisbane where the teams have met
on 12 occasions. Out of those 12 matches Australia have won 9 times and lost
three times.

That gives Australia a record of winning 75% of their home matches against
South Africa in Brisbane. The average score when these teams meet in Brisbane
is Australia 24 South Africa 14.

This weekend will be both teams first Test of the year. South Africa played
a warm up match against a World XV team last week but this was a put-together-team
which failed to test South Africa.

In terms of form South Africa finished the year in 2014 with a disappointing
tour and on a loss to Wales and to Ireland. Australia also had a disappointing
tour and they finished with three consecutive losses. Australia appointed coach
Michael Cheika just days before leaving for their tour so tour losses can be
understood. The team will have a new look with Matt Giteau and Drew Mitchell
returning and this time Cheika has had time to prepare his team.

South Africa’s two losses on tour and their poor form through the Super Rugby
season does not suggest that they will have a strong Rugby Championship and
coach Heyneke Meyer is still experimenting with combinations despite being in
charge for almost four years and two months out from the world cup. Several
commentators have also argued that this is not South Africa’s strongest team.

The Bookies
have given South Africa a 4 point start for this Match
– with
an offer of a FREE $150 BET.
South Africa don’t
have a strong record down under and their Super Rugby form does not inspire
a lot of confidence. Australia
should win this by five.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: Australia 17 South Africa 19

Last six results
Sat, 27 Sep 2014 AUS v SAF 10-28 Newlands, Cape Town
Sat, 06 Sep 2014 AUS v SAF 24-23 Subiaco Oval, Perth
Sat, 28 Sep 2013 AUS v SAF 8-28 Newlands, Cape Town
Sat, 07 Sep 2013 AUS v SAF 12-38 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Sat, 29 Sep 2012 AUS v SAF 8-31 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Sat, 08 Sep 2012 AUS v SAF 26-19 Subiaco Oval, Perth

Australia overall record against South Africa
Played 80 , Wins 34 , Losses 45 , Draws 1

Match No.2: Australia v South Africa
Date : Saturday 18 July 2015
Venue : Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick Off :20:05 AEST, 07:05 ART, 10:05 GMT, 12:05 SAST, 22:05
NZST
Referee<

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close