Mumm captains Australian team with 14 changes

Dean Mumm has been named as Wallabies captain for this week's match

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named Dean Mumm to captain Australia in their second match of Rugby World Cup 2015 against Uruguay at Villa Park in Birmingham on Sunday.

Mumm takes over the captaincy from Stephen Moore and is one of 14 changes to the Wallabies side that beat Fiji 28-13 in Cardiff on Wednesday.

Moore has been rotated down to the replacements bench so the former Waratahs and Exeter Chiefs Captain Mumm comes in to play his 39th Test as part of a match day 23 featuring over 800 caps of Test experience.

Supporting Mumm in a new-look leadership team will be first-time vice-captain Drew Mitchell, and Ben McCalman, who will deputise for the second time in his career. McCalman previously shared the Wallabies vice-captaincy with Matt Giteau in the recent Test against the USA Eagles in Chicago.

“It’s an incredible honour to lead this group of players,” said Mumm.

“Stephen Moore, Michael Hooper and Adam Ashley-Cooper have done an outstanding job as a leadership team this season and I’m extremely grateful to have the opportunity to contribute to what they’ve created and lead the team on Sunday.”

“This is a really important match in our campaign and four players are getting the opportunity to play in their first Rugby World Cup match, so it is a significant occasion for those players and a chance for us to build on the performance against Fiji.”

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said he wanted to give every player a taste of the Rugby World Cup, while looking to improve and build momentum as a group.

“We really want the entire squad to get a touch of the ball early at this Rugby World Cup and get everyone into match mode. We will need all 31 players ready for action throughout the tournament and this is the first chance to do that for many of this team.

We’ve had a solid preparation for this match considering that we’ve had to play two games in five days and we’re very happy with where the players are at.

“It’s important we continue to improve each day as a collective.”


1. Scott Sio , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Toby Smith , 4. Dean Mumm (c) , 5. Will Skelton , 6. Ben McCalman (vc) , 7. Sean McMahon , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Quade Cooper , 11. Drew Mitchell (vc) , 12. Matt Toomua , 13. Henry Speight , 14. Joe Tomane , 15. Kurtley Beale

Replacements : 16. Stephen Moore , 17. Sekope Kepu , 18. Greg Holmes , 19. Kane Douglas , 20. Rob Simmons , 21. Will Genia , 22. Bernard Foley , 23. Tevita Kuridrani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.