Exiles outplay Worcester

London Irish ended their EDF Energy Cup campaign on a high and secured a seven-try victory over Worcester at the Madejski Stadium.

The result had little effect on the tournament as both sides had already been knocked out of the competition.

London Irish looked like they were always in control and led 21-10 at the break. That’s not to say that Worcester did not put up a fight and scored five tries themselves.

After the match Warriors coach Mike Ruddock told the BBC, “Defensively we are very disappointed to concede as many tries as we did.

“The try just before half-time was a big blow to us and we never got back into it. We were always playing catch-up and things got very loose in the second half.

While London Irish forwards coach Tony Booth said, “Competition for places is what we want at this level. A lot of our players have put their hands up today. ,We’ve got some decisions to make for next week but that’s a headache you like to have.

“Gonzalo Tiesi was deservedly man of the match – he distributed well and carried the ball well and that took the pressure off a lot of the other boys.

“His performance in attack was very encouraging. Overall I thought we had plenty of width and plenty of pace and that is how we are looking to play.”


The Exiles victory means that they ended in second place in Group C, with the Ospreys qualifying for the semi-finals.


Final Score London Irish 48 Worcester 27



London Irish (21) 48
Tries: Tiesi, Armitage, Thorpe 2, Tagicakibau, Mordt, Fury
Cons: Hickey 4, Mordt
Pen: Hickey

Worcester (10) 27
Tries: Benjamin, Garvey, Horstmann, Bowley 2
Con: Carlisle



London Irish:

Topsy Ojo, Dominic Shabbo, Gonzalo Tiesi, Nils Mordt, Sailosi Tagicakibau, Eoghan Hickey, Paul Hodgson, Clarke Dermody, Danie Coetzee, Richard Skuse, James Hudson, Bob Casey (capt), Richard Thorpe, Steffon Armitage, Juan Leguizamon
Replacements: Dan Murphy, David Paice, Gary Johnson, Phil Murphy, Mark Ireland, Warren Fury, Jeremy Staunton


Chris Pennell, Miles Benjamin, Mark Tucker, Dominic Feaunati, Marcel Garvey, Joe Carlisle, Matt Powell, Matt Mullan, Chris Fortey, Darren Morris, Greg Rawlinson, Will Bowley, Netani Talei, James Collins, Kai Horstmann
Replacements: Tony Windo, Shaun Ruwers, Phil Murphy, Craig Everett, Jonny Arr, Shane Drahm, Uche Oduoza



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.