Leinster pull off historic Munster win

Leinster got their first win at Musgrave Park in 22 years which puts them at the top of the Magners League.

Shane Horgan’s second-half try gave Michael Cheika’s side the victory in a fiercely-contested derby.

The match looked like it might end in a draw after the scores were locked at 3-3 for over 50 minutes until Luke Fitzgerald broke and sent Horgan in.

Munster’s Ronan O’Gara had a shocker and missed three penalty kicks out of four attempts while Felipe Contepomi landed a penalty and a conversion for Leinster.

Eddie O’Sullivan might have a Six Nations injury concern after Leinster lost captain Brian O’Driscoll to a leg injury after half an hour which meant that Jonathan Sexton came in at number 10 and Contepomi moved to centre.

Final Score Munster 3 Leinster 10

Munster (3) 3
Pen: O’Gara

Leinster (3) 10
Try: Horgan
Con: Contepomi
Pen: Contepomi


S Payne, K Lewis, R Tipoki, L Mafi, I Dowling, R O’Gara, capt, P Stringer, M Horan, J Flannery, J Hayes, D O’Callaghan, M O’Driscoll, D Ryan, D Wallace, D Leamy.

Replacements: F Sheahan, T Buckley, A Foley, N Ronan, G Hurley, P Warwick, B Murphy.


R Kearney, S Horgan, B O’Driscoll, capt, G D’Arcy, L Fitzgerald, F Contepomi, C Willis, O le Roux, B Jackman, S Wright, L Culle, M O’Kelly, S Keogh, S Jennings, J Heaslip.

Replacements: B Blaney, C Healy, C Jowitt, K Gleeson, C Keane, J Sexton, G Brown.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (RFU).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.