Ospreys round up Team to face Leinster

The Ospreys have named their team to face Leinster. Their depth is being tested though as seventeen players are not available for selection this week.


Nine players are unavailable due to Wales team commitments as the Wales team is playing South Africa on Saturday.

This means that the Ospreys do not have the services of Sonny Parker, Gavin Henson, James Hook, Mike Phillips, Jonathan Thomas, Ian Evans, Alun Wyn Jones, Huw Bennett and Duncan Jones.

Adding to the Ospreys selection woes are injuries which have ruled a number of players out for the next week . Shane Williams cannot play as he has a thigh in jury which he picked up against Bourgoin.


Justin Marshall is struggling with a calf injury sustained against Gloucester, Lee Byrne twisted his ankle against Gloucester) and Ian Gough was also injured in the match against Gloucester (sternum).

Other players are also not able to play are Ryan Jones (shoulder) who remains on schedule with his rehabilitation programme and hopes to be available for selection against Harlequins while David Bishop (knee) is expected to rejoin main squad training over the next week and should be playing within a month

Barry Williams (back) is undergoing a rehab programme however a date has not yet be set for his return

Ospreys Assistant Coach, Sean Holley, spoke of the dissapointment of last week’s against Gloucester. “Whilst we were disappointed with last weeks result in Gloucester there were clear factors that prevented us from closing out the game and we were frustrated in the end not to have come away with a win.

The frustration and anger has this week been turned into a focus and determination within the squad which will set us in the right frame of mind to approach the upcoming rounds of European competition. It is still early days and there is a lot of rugby still to be played before teams or commentators can start talking of qualification or non-qualification.”

“This weeks game gives us an opportunity to show our capabilities as Magners League champions.

Leinster will arrive highly motivated following their defeat in France last weekend and they will be looking to avenge two previous narrow defeats at the Liberty Stadium. We have a strong home record, fine support and the players in our team will be looking to make a point in advance of the fixtures against Harlequins and Ulster.”

“There will be a number of fine players on show from both sides in what should be another quality Magners League fixture. With there being no autumn internationals in Ireland this season it is clear that Leinster will field a strong side which will give our players added motivation to set the standard for the Ospreys players on duty with Wales to follow on Saturday.”

The Ospreys team to face Leinster

15 Gareth Owen
14 Nikki Walker
13 Mark Taylor
12 Andrew Bishop
11 Aled Brew
10 Shaun Connor
9 Martin Roberts

8 Filo Tiatia (Capt)
7 Marty Holah
6 Hale T-Pole
5 Lyndon Bateman
4 Andy Lloyd
3 Adam Jones
2 Richard Hibbard
1 Paul James


16 Ed Shervington
17 Andrew Millward
18 Mike Powell
19 Tom Smith
20 Rhodri Wells
21 Ashley Beck
22 Jonathan Vaughton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.