Preview: Ospreys v Bourgoin

Marty Holah will make his Heineken Cup debut on Saturday when the Ospreys take on Bourgoin at the Liberty Stadium.

Having come off the bench in the Ospreys’ EDF ENergy Cup game last weekend Holah will pack down at open-side for the first time in an Ospreys shirt.

The inclusion of Holah at open-side means the Ospreys field an all-international starting fifteen. with three further full caps on the replacements bench.

Head Coach Lyn Jones is excited by the prospect of getting stuck into the Heineken Cup once again.

“We move into the Heineken Cup excited, confident and looking to start this competition with a bang,” he said.

“Our form in the EDF Energy Cup has shown some of the potential we have in our squad, but we are realistic in assessing our success and we recognise that we now need to improve our performance, as the Heineken Cup asks questions at another level.

“We will need to take every chance we get, to further improve the accuracy in our play and to remove all errors from our game.”

Whilst Jones had the luxury of naming a full strength side he is well aware of the threats Bourgoin can carry.

“Bourgoin are a side with a traditionally strong pack of forwards, but behind the scrum they have talent and ability, particularly evident at outside half where they have a proven match winner in Benjamin Boyet,” Jones added.

“We have had difficult selection decisions this week and experience has been a key factor in arriving at Saturday’s team.

“Against Worcester Hale T-Pole came to the fore, and the same can be said of Marty Holah when he came on against London Irish last weekend. These guys, together with individuals like Ian Gough and Mike Phillips have given us an extra dimension as a squad that should enable us to step up to the challenge presented at European level.”

More to follow…

The Teams:

Ospreys: 15 Lee Byrne, 14 Nikki Walker, 13 Sonny Parker, 12 Gavin Henson, 11 Shane Williams, 10 James Hook, 9 Justin Marshall, 8 Filo Tiatia (c), 7 Marty Holah, 6 Alun Wyn Jones, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Ian Gough, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Duncan Jones.
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Paul James, 18 Hale T-Pole, 19 Ben Lewis, 20 Mike Phillips, 21 Shaun Connor, 22 Andrew Bishop.

Bourgoin tbc

Date: Saturday 10 November, 2007
Kick-off: 17:30 GMT
Venue: Liberty Stadium, Swansea
Referee: David Pearson (England)

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.