Preview: Leeds v Saracens

Fijian international winger Appo Satala is set to make his debut for Leeds in their EDF Energy Cup clash with Saracens at Headingley Carnegie on Friday.

Satala, has represented Fiji at full international and sevens level, is a Private in the British Army serving with The Royal Scots but has been released to play rugby for Leeds Carnegie whilst still be available if required by the Army.

Leigh Hinton returns to the starting line-up for the injured Richard Welding (knee) whilst Andy Tuilagi and Tom Rock replace Jonny Hepworth and Lee Blackett in the centres.

James Brooks continues at scrum-half after replacing Joe Bedford last week and Kearnan Myall comes back in for skipper Stuart Hooper.

In the forwards, James Parkes replaces the injured Rob Rawlinson (shoulder) at hooker, while Danny Paul comes in for Mark Lock in the back row.

Form: Leeds Carnegie have returned to England’s top-flight this season but their only victory so far was attained over Worcester at Headingley two weeks ago. Leeds’ last appearance in this competition was against Newcastle in December 2005 when the two sides played out an 18-all draw – the only drawn match in the tournament’s history. Saracens slipped up at Sale last Friday but Sarries still occupy a creditable 3rd spot in the Guinness Premiership table. Saracens have so far been unable to win an away match in this competition. The two sides met on 30 September at Headingley Carnegie in the Premiership with Saracens victorious 31-7. Sarries have won on their last three visits to Headingley.

The teams:

Leeds: 15 Jon Goodridge, 14 Leigh Hinton, 13 Tom Rock, 12 Andy Tuilagi, 11 Appo Satala, 10 Alberto Di Bernardo, 9 James Brooks, 8 Rhys Oakley (c), 7 Calum Clark, 6 Danny Paul, 5 Kearnan Myall, 4 Erik Lund, 3 Fosi Pala’amo, 2 James Parkes, 1 Mike MacDonald
Replacements: 16 Adam Hopcroft, 17 Vili Ma’asi, 18 Pablo Bouza, 19 Sam Stitcher, 20 Darren Edwards, 21 Lee Blackett, 22 Scott Armstrong

Saracens: tbc

Date: Friday, October 26
Venue: Headingley Carnegie
Kick-off: 20:00 (19:00 GMT)
Referee: Malcolm Changleng (Scotland)
Touch judges: Martin Buck (England), Don Helme (England)
Television match official: David Hudson (England)
Assessor: Brian Campsall (Wales)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.