Suggitt gets physical

Canada coach Ric Suggitt has made two changes to his line-up to take on Fiji at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on Sunday.

Coming into the line-up for the game against the Islanders is lock Mike Burak, who replaces Luke Tait in the second row, and Ryan Smith, who comes in for Ander Monro at the critical fly-half position.

After a strong performance against Wales, Rod Snow’s inclusion in the line-up for Sunday’s game sees him earn his 60th cap – further solidifying his position as Canada’s most capped prop.

Snow will relish the opportunity of playing once again in Wales, in front of his many Welsh fans.

Lock Mike James, who will be playing the Fijians for the fourth time in his career, is the only member of the Canada team who has ever played on a winning side against Fiji.

In 1995, James earned his ninth cap as Canda beat Fiji 22-10 in Nadi, a game that saw many of the Canada team suffer the effects of heat stroke in tropical conditions. James next played against Fiji at the 1999 World Cup and also for the French Barbarians against the visiting Islanders in 2001.

Rod Snow, Jon Thiel and Morgan Williams will also be playing against Fiji for the fourth time on Sunday. None of the other members of the team have played against Fiji.

Canada opened its 2007 Rugby World Cup campaign with a gritty effort against Wales, ranked eighth in the world, and led the Six Nation competitors 17-9 until the 50th minute of the match.

A lack of regular competition against teams of Wales’ calibre, however, saw Canada unable to hold back a Welsh resurgence late in the second half that saw them win the match 42-17.

“We have virtually an unchanged squad for the Fiji match,” said Suggitt.

“By adding Mike and Ryan to the line-up we know that we will have a couple of physical players on the pitch.”

“We will need to be more consistent for longer periods of play in this second game if we wish to attain our goal of three victories.

“By doing this we will hope to wear them down and deny them the ball for long periods of the game.”

Canada: 15 Mike Pyke, 14 Dth van der Merwe, 13 Craig Culpan, 12 Dave Spicer, 11 James Pritchard, 10 Ryan Smith, 9 Morgan Williams (c), 8 Sean-Michael Stephen, 7 Dave Biddle, 6 Jamie Cudmore, 5 Mike James, 4 Mike Burak, 3 Jon Thiel, 2 Pat Riordan, 1 Rod Snow
Replacements: 16 Aaron Carpenter, 17 Dan Pletch, 18 Mike Pletch, 19 Luke Tait, 20 Colin Yukes, 21 Ed Fairhurst, 22 Ander Monro

Date: Sunday September, 16
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 14.00 (13.00 GMT)
Referee: Tony Spreadbury
Touch judges: Christophe Berdos, Mark Lawrence
Television match official: Craig Joubert
Assessor: Steve Hilditch


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.