Welsh surge sees them home



Wales will want to silence their critics and put in a flawless display against a pumped up Canada outfit in their Pool B Rugby World Cup opener at the Stade la Beaujoire in Nantes on Sunday.

After the disappointment of the Six Nations and the pre-World Cup warm-up matches, the time has come for Wales to prove to the world that they are still a force to be reckoned with.

Past results:

2006: Wales won 61-26 at Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
2005: Wales won 60-3 at York Stadium, Toronto
2003: Wales won 41-10 at Colonial Stadium, Melbourne (RWC)
2002: Wales won 32-21 at Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
1999: Wales won 33-19 at Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
1997: Wales won 28-25 at Markham
1994: Wales won 33-15 3 at Markham
1993: Canada won 26-24 at Cardiff Arms Park
1987: Pool B Wales won 40-9 in Invercargill (RWC)


Match Detail


At half time Canada led Wales by 12 points to 9 after an intercept try by the Canadians. The Welsh playing in Black seemed to be unable to do much right.


The Canadians scored two tries while the Welsh have scored three penalties in the first half.


The half time score was Wales 9 Canada 12.


The start of the second half must have been very frightening for Welsh fans because Canada were the first to score a try again and had the Welsh down at 17 – 9.


Then Welsh coach Gareth Jenkins brought on Stephen Jones and Gareth Thomas and the change seemed to turn the game on it’s head because just 12 minutes later the Welsh were well ahead after scoring two tries from Parker & Wyn Jones.


The state of play continued and the Welsh built up a very comfortable lead as Shane Williams scored two tries in two minutes.


Colin Charvis was the next to go over.


With ten minutes to go the Welsh had used up the whole bench but were 23 points ahead and that is the way it stayed.


Final score is Wales 42 Canada 17.


Full report to follow.




Tries Williams (2), Charvis, Parker, Wyn Jones
Penalties – Hook(3)
Conv – Jones (4)


Tries – Cudmore,Culpan,Williams
Conversion – Pritchard

The teams:

Wales: 15 Kevin Morgan, 14 Mark Jones, 13 Tom Shanklin,12 Sonny Parker, 11 Shane Williams, 10 James Hook, 9 Dwayne Peel (c), 8 Alix Popham, 7 Martyn Williams, 6 Jonathan Thomas, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Ian Gough, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Gethin Jenkins
Replacements: 16 T Rhys Thomas, 17 Duncan Jones, 18 Michael Owen, 19 Colin Charvis, 20 Michael Phillips, 21 Stephen Jones, 22 Gareth Thomas

Canada: 15 Mike Pyke, 14 Dth van der Merwe, 13 Craig Culpan, 12 Dave Spicer, 11 James Pritchard, 10 Ander Monro, 9 Morgan Williams (c), 8 Sean-Michael Stephen, 7 Dave Biddle, 6 Jamie Cudmore, 5 Mike James, 4 Luke Tait, 3 Jon Thiel, 2 Pat Riordan, 1 Rod Snow
Replacements: 16 Aaron Carpenter, 17 Dan Pletch, 18 Mike Pletch, 19 Mike Burak, 20 Colin Yukes, 21 Ed Fairhurst, 22 Ryan Smith

Date: Saturday, September 8
Kick-off: 14:45 (13.45 BST)
Venue: Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes
Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland)
Touch judges: Dave Pearson (England), Hugh Watkins (Wales)
Television match official: Malcolm Changleng (Scotland) <

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.