Hadden changes four for Bok clash

Scotland coach Frank Hadden has named his team for Saturday’s World Cup warm-up fixture against South Africa.

The side boasts four changes to the one that stunned Ireland 32-21 at Murrayfield last week.

Hadden brings in prop Gavin Kerr, back-row pair Kelly Brown and David Callam and winger Nikki Walker to the starting line-up.

Chris Paterson continues at stand-off ahead of Dan Parks, with the Springboks sure to examine the Gloucester man.

There had been suggestions Hadden would promote more of the World Cup squad who played no part or little part in the Ireland clash.

However he has kept faith with the bulk of the players who make up his first-choice XV, ahead of the September 9 clash with Portugal in Saint-Etienne which marks the start of Scotland’s World Cup campaign.

“With our first World Cup game 19 days away, Saturday is a massive challenge for us,” Hadden said.

“As ever the selection is about identifying a team that can win.

“In this case it’s also about striking a balance between giving as many players in the squad game time and looking for continuity after our victory earlier this month against Ireland.”

Hadden confirmed that Simon Taylor was being given the weekend off to recover from a facial injury, while Scott Lawson and Chris Cusiter were ruled out by ankle injuries.

“Simon Taylor could have played this weekend but we’ve decided in light of the very deep gash to his face that he sustained against Ireland that it will do him no harm to rest,” he added.

Scotland: 15 Rory Lamont (Sale Sharks), 14 Nikki Walker (Ospreys), 13 Rob Dewey (Ulster), 12 Andrew Henderson (Glasgow Warriors), 11 Simon Webster (Edinburgh), 10 Chris Paterson (Gloucester), 9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh), 8 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors), 7 David Callam (Edinburgh), 6 Jason White (Sale Sharks, captain), 5 James Hamilton (Leicester), 4 Nathan Hines (Perpignan), 3 Euan Murray (Northampton), 2 Ross Ford (Glasgow Warriors), 1 Gavin Kerr (unattached),
Replacements: 16 Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors), 17 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), 18 Scott Murray (Montauban), 19 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh), 20 Rory Lawson (Gloucester), 21 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors), 22 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh).

Date: Saturday, 25 August
Venue: Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 17:00 (18:00 GMT)
Referee: Christophe Berdos (France)
Touch-judges: Rob Debney (England), Roy Maybank (England)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.