Aussies get home win and upset AB’s

Match Preview


After two fierce Tri-Nations clashes in the past two weeks the action is not set to slow down when the two trans-Tasman rivals andtwo powerhouses of rugby, Australia and New Zealand, do battle this Saturday in Melbourne, in the Tri-Nations series and for the Bledisloe Cup to boot.

New Zealand, after five painful years which saw the Bledisloe Cup firmly in the grasp of a golden Wallaby outfit, have hoarded the coveted silverware since 2003.

And it is going to take a monumental effort from Australia to take it back, because not only do they need to win in Melbourne on Saturday, they will need to win again – or draw – in Auckland on July 21.

But perhaps not too much history should be taken into account for Saturday’s game.

Match Detail


The All Blacks started well and managed to score an early try.


Mortlock attacked but as he got the ball over the line he lost contact with the ball.


Mortlock then missed a kick at goal and on his second shot he scored a penalty.


Both teams then scored a penalty a piece.


Luke McAlister then opened the Aussie defence and created some space. In the next move he sucked in two defenders and sent Rico Gear in for the try. Carter did not convert.


Just ahead of half time Mortlock missed another shot at goal which would have given the Wallabies a bit of confidence going into the second half.  


The half time score was Australia 06 New Zealand 15


For 20 minutes the scores stayed the same in the second half and then Carl Hayman was sent to the bin. Australia attacked and  Adam Ashley-Cooper beat three tackles (Gear,McCaw & Jack) to score a try for the Wallabies. Giteau converted.


Carter then missed a penalty just ahead of Hayman’s return.


Mortlock broke free and created space for Scott Staniforth who scored a try for the Wallabies. Giteau converted.


Full time score is Australia 20 New Zealand 15


Full report to follow.





Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper, Scott Staniforth
Penalties – Mortlock (2)

Conversions – Giteau (2)


New Zealand

Tries – Woodcock, Rico Gear
Penalties – Carter

Conversions – Carter

Cards – Yellow – Carl Hayman

The teams:

15 Julian Huxley, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Stirling Mortlock (c), 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Stephen Larkham, 9 George Gregan, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 George Smith (v/c), 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Dan Vickerman, 4 Nathan Sharpe, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Matt Dunning.
Replacements: 16 Adam Freier, 17 Al Baxter, 18 Mark Chisholm, 19 Stephen Hoiles, 20 Phil Waugh (v/c), 21 Scott Staniforth, 22 Mark Gerrard.

New Zealand – revised: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Rico Gear, 13 Luke McAlister, 12 Aaron Mauger, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Byron Kelleher, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerry Collins, 5 Troy Flavell, 4 Chris Jack, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Anton Oliver, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Neemia Tialata, 18 Ross Filipo, 19 Chris Masoe, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 22 Nick Evans.

Date: Saturday, 30 June
Venue: MCG, Melbourne
Kick-off: 20.05 (10.05 GMT – 22.05 NZ time)
Conditions: Low 7 degrees celsius,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.