Pocock and Hooper start for Wallabies v All Blacks

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has named David Pocock and Michael Hooper
in his starting Australia line up to face New Zealand in the Rugby Championship
decider and Bledisloe Cup clash at ANZ Stadium on Saturday.

For the first time in their Test careers, Michael Hooper and David Pocock have
been named in the starting line-up together, with Hooper returning to the run-on
side at openside flanker and Pocock in the number eight jersey.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said: “Australian Rugby is very
fortunate to have some quality flankers competing for the number seven jumper.

“Both players have been in outstanding form for club and country this season
and have shown their class in sharing the spot in the first two matches.

“They now have an opportunity to start a Test together which they are very
excited about.”

In another key milestone for the Wallabies, Scott Sio will make his run-on
debut at loosehead prop after a pair of impressive cameos from the reserves
bench in Brisbane and Mendoza, and a strong training camp.

“We have been impressed with Scott since joining the Wallabies group
and he has worked extremely hard to put himself in this position,” said

Matt Giteau returns from injury for his first start against New Zealand since
2011 and the 93-Test veteran will join Bernard Foley and Tevita Kuridrani in
the Wallabies midfield.

Dean Mumm’s rise since returning from European Rugby continues, with
the mobile lock moving in to the starting side to replace Will Skelton, who
has been moved to the reserves bench for the first time this season.

Drew Mitchell will get his first opportunity in the Wallabies starting XV
this international season, joining Adam Ashley-Cooper and Israel Folau in the
Wallabies back three


1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore, (C) , 3. Sekope Kepu, 4. Dean Mumm, 5. James
Horwill, 6. Scott Fardy, 7. Michael Hooper, (VC), 8. David Pocock, 9. Nick Phipps,
10. Bernard Foley 11. Drew Mitchell, 12. Matt Giteau, 13. Tevita Kuridrani,
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (VC) , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements : 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 17. James Slipper, 18. Greg Holmes,
19. Will Skelton , 20. Ben McCalman, 21. Nic White, 22. Matt Toomua, 23. Kurtley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.