Milner-Skudder starts for All Blacks against Australia

New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen has named Nehe Milner-Skudder to make his
All Black debut this weekend against Australia in the opening Bledisloe Cup
and Rugby Championship-deciding Test against Australia at ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Milner-Skudder will start on the right wing and form par of a new back three
with Julian Savea is back on the left wing and Ben Smith at fullback in a team
with several changes to the side that beat South Africa in Johannesburg last

Savea will play his first test of the 2015 Rugby season while Sonny Bill Williams
is at 12 and Dan Carter returns at first five-eighth for his 105th Test match.

In the run-on forward pack, Jerome Kaino comes in at blindside flanker while
Luke Romano comes in at lock. There are just two changes to the bench, with
Nepo Laulala providing tighthead prop cover and Sam Cane coming in to cover
the loose forwards.

With three All Blacks centurions amongst them, the All Blacks starting XV boasts
868 Test caps experience with a further 183 on the bench, with an average age
of 27.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said the team had prepared well this week
for the opening Bledisloe Cup Test.

“The Bledisloe Cup is an important trophy for New Zealand rugby and for
this team, and Australia is one of our oldest opponents. We are well aware that
they have made improvements and that their coach Cheika wants them to be more
physical and more consistent.

“Having said that, we are always looking to improve our game and understand
that we will have to take a step up from our Ellis Park performance. “

“This means we will need to bring physicality, intensity and accuracy
to the occasion. I am picking this to be a brutal contest, and one we are looking
forward to. It will be about us implementing our gameplan and skillsets for
80-plus minutes.”

New Zealand

Tony Woodcock, Dane Coles, Owen Franks , Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano , Jerome
Kaino, Richie McCaw (c), Kieran Read , Aaron Smith , Daniel Carter, Julian Savea
, Sonny Bill Williams , Conrad Smith, Nehe Milner-Skudder , Ben Smith

Replacements : 16. Codie Taylor, 17. Ben Franks , 18. Nepo Laulala , 19. Samuel
Whitelock , 20. Sam Cane, 21. TJ Perenara , 22. Beauden Barrett , 23. Malakai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.