Giteau & Palu return for Rugby Championship decider

Wallabies head coach Michael Cheika has made three changes to his Rugby Championship
squad that played against Argentina for next weekend’s match against New Zealand’s
All Blacks.

Australia lead the Rugby Championship standings on points difference so a draw
in the final round match in Sydney would be enough to hand Australia the title.

Matt Giteau, Wycliff Palu and the uncapped Toby Smith have come in to the
31-man squad announced today for next Saturday’s clash with the All Blacks in
Sydney (August 8).

Giteau returns after a one-match layoff with injury while Palu returns to the
squad after being rested for the past month.

The return of the experienced duo is timely as the Wallabies prepare for what
is effectively a 2015 Rugby Championship ‘Final’.

Melbourne Rebels prop Toby Smith is the other new face in the 31-man squad,
earning his place after a consistent Super Rugby campaign. The 26-year-old enters
the squad as the only non-capped player.

Wallabies Head Coach Micheal Cheika said,”We have been able to
look at a few different combinations during the first two rounds of The Rugby
Championship and the squad is starting to take shape.

“In additional to the 31 players, we’ll be bringing some injured
and fringe players into camp to continue their rehabilitation and manage their
return to play. It’s important that they remain connected and contribute
to the group.

“Toby has had a solid season with the Rebels, and has been working really
hard while the group has been away.

“Our intention was always to rest Wycliff prior to this camp, and he has
come back in great shape and really eager to play.”

The 31-man squad will assemble in Coogee on Sunday evening.

31-man Wallabies Squad

Adam Ashley-Cooper – VC (Waratahs)
Kurtley Beale (Waratahs)
Quade Cooper (Reds)
Scott Fardy (Brumbies)
Israel Folau (Waratahs)
Bernard Foley (Waratahs)
Matt Giteau (Toulon)
Greg Holmes (Reds)
Michael Hooper – VC (Waratahs)
James Horwill (Reds)
Sekope Kepu (Waratahs)
Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies)
Christian Lealiifano (Brumbies)
Stephen Moore – C (Brumbies)
Drew Mitchell (Toulon)
Ben McCalman (Force)
Sean McMahon (Rebels)
Dean Mumm (Waratahs)
Wycliff Palu (Waratahs)
Nick Phipps (Waratahs)
David Pocock (Brumbies)
Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs)
Scott Sio (Brumbies)
Rob Simmons (Reds)
Will Skelton (Waratahs)
James Slipper (Reds)
Toby Smith* (Rebels)
Henry Speight (Brumbies)
Matt Toomua (Brumbies)
Joe Tomane (Brumbies)
Nic White (Brumbies)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.