Giteau and Mitchell in Wallabies extended squad

Wallabies coach Michael has named an extended training squad ahead of The Rugby Championship opener against the Springboks on 18 July and included Toulon’s Matt Giteau and Drew Mitchell

The 40-man squad, featuring a combination of youth and experience, will assemble this Sunday for a one-week camp on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast, training out of Sunshine Coast Stadium.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said: “The extended squad gives the new coaching staff a great opportunity to observe and test some new combinations.

“Off the field, this group has been working very hard and I’m very pleased for our new players entering the Wallabies environment.

“We’re fortunate enough to see some experience enter the squad from both Super Rugby and overseas. It is important we get them connected to the Wallabies culture as soon as possible.

“We are expecting a pretty physical week ahead in Caloundra, and we will look to shave down the squad closer to Test week when we arrive in Brisbane to take on the Springboks.”

Uncapped Wallabies Toby Smith, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Rory Arnold and Samu Kerevi are the latest additions to the Wallabies program, following a grueling two-week training program with the preliminary train-on squad in Brisbane.

Drew Mitchell and Matt Giteau have been included in the squad under the foreign policy rule, while Waratahs and Exeter lock Dean Mumm returns to the Wallabies program for the first time since 2012.

Another returning Wallaby is Queensland Reds prop Greg Holmes. The 13-Test veteran has impressed throughout the 2015 Super Rugby season with fellow Reds front rowers James Hanson and James Slipper joining him in the squad.

Scott Higginbotham and Sam Carter return after missing the 2014 Spring Tour due to injury, while Waratahs skipper David Dennis gets an opportunity to press for Wallaby honours for the first time since November 2013, after being ruled out of last year’s international season with a knee injury.

Extended Wallabies Squad:

Rory Arnold (Brumbies)*
Adam Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs)
Kurtley Beale (Waratahs)
Quade Cooper (Reds)
Dave Dennis (Waratahs)
James Hanson (Reds)
Scott Fardy (Brumbies)
Tetera Faulkner (Force)
Israel Folau (Waratahs)
Bernard Foley (Waratahs)
Will Genia (Reds)
Matt Giteau (Toulon) ^
Scott Higginbotham (Rebels)
Greg Holmes (Reds)
Michael Hooper (Waratahs)
Rob Horne (Waratahs)
James Horwill (Reds)
Samu Kerevi (Reds)*
Sekope Kepu (Waratahs)
Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies)
Christian Lealiifano (Brumbies)
Stephen Moore (Brumbies)
Drew Mitchell (Toulon)^
Wyclif Palu (Waratahs)
Ben McCalman (Force)
Sean McMahon (Rebels)
Dean Mumm (Waratahs)
Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs)*
Nick Phipps (NSW Waratahs)
David Pocock (Brumbies)
Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs)
Scott Sio (Brumbies)
Rob Simmons (Reds)
Will Skelton (Waratahs)
James Slipper (Reds)
Toby Smith (Rebels)*
Henry Speight (Brumbies)
Matt Toomua (Brumbies)
Joe Tomane (Brumbies)
Nic White (Brumbies)

^Foreign player ruling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.