Force start Cottrell for McCalman against Rebels

The Western Force have named their team to play the Rebels in Melbourne in their final Super Rugby match of the year.

Back-rower Angus Cottrell will start at the back of the scrum in place of Ben McCalman, after the Wallabies No.8 was ruled out with a fractured cheekbone sustained in last weekend’s match against the ACT Brumbies.

Cottrell’s position on the blindside flank will be taken by Chris Alcock, who returns for his sixth appearance in the run-on side for 2015.

Steve Mafi returns to the starting line-up in place of lock Adam Coleman, who will miss the match after sustaining a broken toe during the week.

Mafi will pack down alongside Sam Wykes, who is set to play his 87th and final match for the Force before heading to play in the Japanese Top League.

In the front row, Tetera Faulkner has been reinstated in the starting tighthead prop role.

Prop Oliver Hoskins, lock Wilhelm Steenkamp and back-rower Brynard Stander all return to the match squad as part of an extended bench, while Patrick Dellit is also in line to play his final match for the Western Australian squad.

Dellit has represented the Force on 40 occasions in his five seasons with the club.

Head Coach Michael Foley says the Force will be looking to finish the season on a high.

“This will be the last opportunity this team has to play together,” he said. “On that basis, it’s a great chance to farewell our departing players and the last chance we’ll have this season to thank our supporters for their ongoing loyalty throughout a tough season. ,

“The guys have continued to prepare well this week and are keen to rip in and leave nothing on the field in our final game this season.”

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes , 5. Steve Mafi , 6. Chris Alcock , 7. Matt Hodgson (c) , 8. Angus Cottrell , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Zack Holmes , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Kyle Godwin , 13. Marcel Brache , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Guy Millar , 19. Wilhelm Steenkamp , 20. Brynard Stander , 21. Ryan Louwrens , 22. Luke Burton , 23. Patrick Dellit , 24. Oliver Hoskins , (one to be omitted) ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.