Brumbies beat the Western Force in Perth

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between Perth based Western Force and the Canberra based Brumbies the Canberra side have won five and lost one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Force kick off and we are underway with the match. 

2.00: The Brumbies win the ball and go through 14 phases on attack. They work the ball from their half into the Force’s 22.

3.00: On the 16th phase the Brumbies (Robbie Coleman) chips the ball ahead and Joe Tomane chases the ball over the line but is not awarded the try. 

5.00: The Brumbies keep the pressure on the Force and they set up a scrum. However the Force win a penalty from the scrum so they kick for touch. 

7.00: Penalty to the Brumbies for not releasing the player. Nic White kicks for touch and the line out. 

9.00: The Brumbies win a line out and set up a maul. They drive over the line and David Pocock scores the opening TRY! 

11.00; Christian Lealiifano takes the conversion kick and curls it in. Force possession is at 10%. 

13.00: The Force win a penalty. Zack Holmes takes the kick and nails it. The Force are on the board. 

15.00: Another penalty to the Force. Holmes lines up the kick and nails it. 

17.00: The Brumbies work the ball through the hands. Not much appears to be on but then the Brumbies get some quick ball as the Force get sucked into a ruck and Christian Lealiifano gets the ball on the wing and races for the line to score. TRY! 

19.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion. 

22.00: Sam Wykes leaves the field for a concussion test. The Brumbies knock on at the line out so the Force have a defensive scrum. 

27.00: The Brumbies resort to the maul again and David Pocock goes over to score. At the same time Steve Mafi is yellow carded. Mafi was on for Wykes. 

28.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion. 

29.00: Penalty to the Force. They kick for touch and the line out. 

33.00: The Force get their best opportunity. Nick Cummins gathers a loose ball from the Brumbies and races for the line. He is caught by Jesse Mogg just short of the line. The Brumbies scramble and save the try as the Force try to recycle as they hold them up. 

36.00: Angus Cottrell takes a head knock and drops to the ground. The game is paused while he goes off for a concussion test. Wykes is back on. 

39.00: The Brumbies win a line out in their half. They maul it for about 10m and then kick. The ball gets over the half way line and they win it back. The Brumbies then lose the ball and the Force kick it upfield and Speight has to kick the ball out behind the dead ball line giving the Force a 5m attacking scrum. 

40.00: The siren sounds. The Force put the ball into the scrum but the Brumbies shove them over. 

41.00: The Brumbies kick the ball into touch. Its half time. 

The half time score was Force 6 Brumbies 21

The Brumbies kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

44.00: The Brumbies are still dominating possession. They win a line out and kick for touch. 

45.00: The Force win a line out but the Brumbies are up so quickly that the Force have to kick the ball away. 

46.00: The Force win the ball back and work it up to the Brumbies 22. They almost get to the Brumbies 5m line but then having done all of the work through 12 phases they knock on. 

50.00: The Force go through the phases again but they knock on again in the Brumbies 22. 

56.00: The Brumbies don’t have the same intensity in the second half they enjoyed in the first half. 

58.00: The brumbies get their best opportunity this half with a penalty. They kick for touch, win the line out and drive for the line. The Brumbies have to recycle and go at the line several times but as they get in front of the posts Allan Alaalatoa scores under the posts. Bonus point TRY!

60.00 Lealiifano adds the conversion. 

66.00: The Brumbies set up another rolling maul and again David Pocock drives over the line and scores. TRY! Thats a hat trick for Pocock. 

66.00: Lealiifano misses the conversion. 

70.00: The Force get their best field position with a penalty and then a line out. They win the line out on the 5m line. The Brumbies concede a penalty and then a warning. The Force kick for touch. 

72.0: The Force go over for  their first TRY of the match. Tetera Faulkner is confirmed as the Tryscorer by the TMO after a maul.

 72.00: Holmes adds the conversion. 

74.00: The Force are coming back. They win a line out and Luke Morahan slices through the Brumbies backline and goes over to score. TRY !

75.00: Holmes adds the conversion. 

78.00: The Force go on the attack and look a much better team. However Angus Cottrell slips in a tackle that looked high but the TMO shows he just slipped. The Force get a penalty as they were attacking. They kick for touch to set up the line out. Cottrell leaves the field. 

79.00: The Brumbies win the lineout and boot the ball upfield. 

80.00: The siren sounds and the ball is kicked into touch. 

The full time score is Force 20 (6) Brumbies 33 (21)


Tries – T.Faulkner, L.Morahan
Pen – Z.Holmes 2
Con – Z.Holmes 2
Drop –
Cards -S. Mafi (27th min yellow)

Tries – D.Pocock 3, C.Lealiifano,  A. Alaalatoa,
Pen –
Con – C.Lealiifano 4
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Damien Mitchelmore
Assistant Ref 2:Graham Cooper
TMO : Peter Marshall


Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Guy Millar , 4. Sam Wykes , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Angus Cottrell , 7. Matt Hodgson (c) , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Zack Holmes , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Kyle Godwin , 13. Marcel Brache , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Tetera Faulkner , 19. Steve Mafi , 20. Kane Koteka , 21. Ryan Louwrens , 22. Luke Burton , 23. Patrick Dellit


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Ben Alexander, 4. Rory Arnold, 5. Blake Enever, 6. Scott Fardy, 7. David Pocock, 8. Ita Vaea, 9. Nic White, 10. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Joe Tomane, 12. Robbie Coleman, 13. Tevita Kuridrani ,14. Henry Speight, 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements : 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Allan Alaalatoa, 18. Ruan Smith, 19. Jordan Smiler, 20. Jarrad Butler, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Nigel Ah Wong, 23. James Dargaville

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.