Hurricanes beat Highlanders in Napier

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Wellington based Hurricanes and the Dunedin based Highlanders both teams have won three matches.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. After a minute  of silence the Highlanders kick off. 

1.00: The Highlanders win the ball back after the kick off and Lima Sopoaga takes a shot at a drop goal and nails it. 

2.00: The Huricanes kick upfield and there is a scramble for the ball. Lima Sopaga gets to the ball and slides into touch. He throws the ball away from the Hurricanes and concedes a penalty. 

3.00: James Marshall takes the penalty kick and nails it. The scores are level. 

5.00: The Highlanders win a penalty back. Sopoaga takes the kick but misses. 

7.00: The Hurricanes win a penalty for Waisake Naholo holding on. They kick for touch. The Highlanders come away with the ball from the line out but they then have to put the ball into touch. 

9.00: The Highlanders win their line out and boot the ball upfield. 

10.00: The Hurricanes put the Highlanders under pressure in the Highlanders 22. They win another penalty and kick for the corner. 

11.00: The Hurricanes win the line out and try to set up the maul. Initially they struggle to get it going but then it goes over the line. The whistle goes and Gareth Evans is yellow carded for killing the ball on the line. 

12.00: James Marshall takes the penalty kick from in front and nails it. The Hurricanes lead. 

15.00: The Hurricanes attack down the wing and nothing really seems to be on but then Milner-Skudder slips past one tackle and on his second he pops the pass out to Blade Thomson who runs in to score. TRY! 

16.00: James Marshall misses the conversion. 

19.00: Wow. James Marshall slips through a tackle outwide. He cuts back in and five Highlanders players try to tackle him but they fall over each other one by one and Marshall scores. TRY! 

20.00: Marshall adds the conversion. Tom Franklin was injured in that so Joe Latta has come on. 

21.00: Nehe Milner-Skudder almost gets the Hurricanes through again but he is then caught. 

24.00: The Hurricanes put the Highlanders under pressure on their line. TJ Perenara slips over and the TMO is called in to check for obstruction. The try is awarded. 

25.00: Marshall’s conversion is missed. 

28.00: The Highlanders spread the ball wide and they stretch the Hurricanes. Ryan Tongia who helped create the break is tackled but gets back up and then comes back in support and scores. TRY! 

29.00: Sopoaga’s kick just misses. 

30.00: Ryan Tongia splits the Hurricanes in the centrefield. He passes out to John Hardie who is just caught but gets the ball away and Sopoaga scores. TRY! A fight breaks out and then dies down. 

32.00: Sopoaga takes the conversion kick but misses again.

35.00: The Hurricanes power their way to the Highlanders tryline. They press forward through a series of breaks and then Dane Coles slips over in the corner for the bonus point TRY! 

36.00: James Marshall slots the conversion as Jason Emery is helped off. 

39.00: As the siren sounds Beauden Barrett is tackled and slides over the line. Elliot Dixon managed to get under the ball. We go to the TMO to check. 

40.00: TMO rules no try so it’s half time. 

The half time score is Hurricanes 30 Highlanders 13

The Hurricanes kick off and the second half is knocked on. 

41.00: The Highlanders knock on from the kick off. The Hurricanes win the scrum and they move the ball wide to Julian Savea through a break from Milner-Skudder and Savea scores. TRY! 

42.00: Marshall slots the conversion. 

44.00: The Highlanders immediately look to hit back and they send Marty Banks over in the corner for their third TRY!

45.00: Sopoaga takes the conversion kick and this one he nails. 

46.00: The Hurricanes again show hands and they slip through the Highlanders defence and TJ Perenara slips over for his second TRY! That makes him Super Rugby’s leading try scorer. 

46.00: The conversion is added by Marshall. 

52.00; The Highlanders are going through the phases on the attack in the Hurricanes half. They go through 15 phases but make little ground. 

54.00: The ball changes hands a couple of times and a long spell of play ends with a penalty to the Highlanders. 

57.00: Ma’a Nonu comes on to replace Nehe Milner-Skudder. 

60.00: The match has slowed to a bit of a lull. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen comes on for Ben Franks. The Hurricanes attack from a line out but they knock on. 

62.00: The Hurricanes work the ball up to the Highlanders 5m line but the Highlanders turn the ball over and kick it back upfield. 

65.00: The Hurricanes get the ball in their 22. They run the ball and get it into the Highlanders half and they concede a penalty for not releasing. 

69.00: The Hurricanes work the ball up to the Highlanders 5m line. They give the ball to Ma’a Nonu and he charges over the line taking three players with him. TRY! 

70.00: The conversion is missed. 

71.00: The Highlanders lose the ball after the breakdown when Brad Shields picks up an intercept and he offloads to Ma’a Nonu who races for the line and scores again. TRY!

72.00: Marshall converts the try. 

77.00: The Highlanders look to have scored their bonus point try but the TMO replays show a knock on. 

78.00: The Highlanders snipe for the corner but Beauden Barrett gets across and save the try. 

80.00: The Hurricanes wind the clock down. The siren sounds and they kick the ball into touch. 

The Hurricanes have won. 

The full time score is Hurricanes 56 (30) Highlanders 20 (13)


Tries – B.Thomson, J.Marshall, TJ Perenara 2, D.Coles, J.Savea, M.Nonu 2
Pen – J.Marshall 2
Con – J.Marshall 5
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R.Tongia, L.Sopoaga, M.Banks 
Pen –  
Con –
Drop – L.Sopoaga
Cards -G.Evans (11th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Shane McDermott
Assistant Ref 2:Paul Williams
TMO : Aaron Paterson



James Marshall, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Conrad Smith (c), Rey Lee-Lo, Julian Savea, Beauden Barrett, TJ Perenara, Victor Vito, Ardie Savea, Blade Thomson, James Broadhurst, Jeremy Thrush, Ben Franks, Dane Coles, Reggie Goodes.

Replacements: 16. Brayden Mitchell , 17. Chris Eves , 18. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen , 19. Mark Abbott , 20. Brad Shields , 21. Chris Smylie , 22.  Willis Halaholo , 23. Ma’a Nonu


1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Ash Dixon ( C ) , 3.Ross Geldenhuys , 4. Alex Ainley , 5. Tom Franklin , 6. Gareth Evans , 7. John Hardie , 8. Elliot Dixon , 9. Fumiaki Tanaka , 10. Lima Sopoaga (VC) , 11. Ryan Tongia , 12. Richard Buckman , 13. Jason Emery , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Marty Banks

Replacements : 16. Liam Coltman , 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 18. Pingi Talaapitaga , 19. Joe Latta , 20. Dan Pryor , 21. Scott Eade , 22. Shaun Treeby , 23. Kurt Baker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.