Blues name young squad to play Crusaders

Will Lloyd will play for London Irish

Blues head coach Sir John Kirwan has announced his team to play the Crusaders on Saturday and included three squad players.

The Blues have again been hit by injuries and they have had to dig deep into their playing stocks for this week as there are 12 players unavailable for selection with injury.

Will Lloyd (lock) and Joe Edwards (flanker) and Matt Vaega (fullback), get their first starts while replacement Airi Hunt (No 8) gains his first Super Rugby cap in Saturday’s game at Eden Park.

Replacement players, brought in to cover the large number of injured player – Nic Mayhew, Sione Mafileo, Chris Vui and Matt McGahan – are listed in the reserves.

James Parsons takes on the captaincy again in his 49th Super Rugby cap for the Blues.


1. Sam Prattley , 2. James Parsons (c) , 3. Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 4. Will Lloyd , 5. Josh Bekhuis , 6. Joe Edwards , 7. Brendon O’Connor , 8. Airi Hunt , 9. Jimmy Cowan , 10. Ihaia West , 11. Melani Nanai , 12. George Moala , 13. Hamish Northcott , 14. Ben Lam , 15. Matt Vaega

Replacements : 16. Keven Mealamu , 17. Nic Mayhew , 18. Sione Mafileo , 19. Hayden Triggs , 20. Chris Vui , 21. Jamison Gibson-Park , 22. Simon Hickey , 23. Matt McGahan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.