Stormers beat Cheetahs in Cape Town

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Cape Town based Stormers and the Bloemfontein based Cheetahs both teams have won three matches each.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Stormers kick off and we are underway. 

1.00: The Cheetahs kick the ball almost immediately into touch. The Stormers win the line out and go through 9 phases on attack and they get into the Cheetahs 22. 

2.00: Penalty to the Stormers on the Cheetahs 22. 

3.00: Demetri Catrakilis takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Stormers are on the board. 

4.00: The Stormers get the ball from the restart and they run at the Cheetahs. The Stormers keep the ball moving through the hands and Seabelo Senatla reaches and puts the ball down in the corner to score. TRY! 

5.00: Catrakilis adds the conversion. 

9.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Catrakilis lines up the kick and nails it. Stormers building a strong lead.  

13.00: The Stormers put the Cheetahs under pressure in their 22 after a break by Damian de Allende. The Cheetahs scramble and keep the Stormers out. 

15.00: The Stormers have a scrum on the Cheetahs 5m line. It takes some time to complete but then the ball pops out the side. The Cheetahs are judged to have scrummed illegally so the Stormers have another penalty. They will kick for posts. 

16.00: Catrakilis takes the shot and nails it. 

20.00: Cheetahs getting more into the match. They get the ball out of their half and into the Stormers half. 

21.00: The Cheetahs win a line out and then a penalty from the line out. They kick for touch. 

22.00; The Cheetahs win the line out and try to set up the maul. The whistle goes and the Stormers get a warning for sacking the player in a maul. Duanne Vermeulen and Ref Craig Joubert disagree on the rules of the game. Cheetahs kick for touch and the line out. 

23.00: The Cheetahs win the line out and use the maul. They drive over the line and Boom Prinsloo scores. TRY!

24.00: Joe Pietersen takes the conversion kick and nails it. 

28.00: The Cheetahs are playing the game a lot more down in the Stormers half. 

29.00: The Stormers turn the ball over and attack. They go through 6 phases and get into the Cheetahs 22. Nic Groom slices and dodges his way through the Cheetahs but they are kept out. The Stormers get a penalty. 

31.00: The Stormers win the line out and move the ball to the other side of the field. The ball slows and they use the pick and go edging closer to the line. 

32.00: The Cheetahs hold the Stormers out but knock on. The Stormers win the scrum and Senatla races over and scores under the posts. TRY! 

34.00: Catrakilis adds the conversion. 

36.00: The Stormers attack down the wing after turning the ball over. Lleyds, De Jongh and De Allende all combine and look certain to score but De Jongh loses the ball forward. 

39.00: The Stormers get back down into the Cheetahs 22 and they win a penalty. They kick for touch and the line out. The Stormers win the line out but the ball goes to ground so it is slow. 

40.00: The Stormers spread the ball wide but Juan de Jongh loses the ball forward. We go to the TMO to check for an early tackle. 

41.00: The whistle goes for half time. 

The half time score is Stormers 23 Cheetahs 7

The Cheetahs kick off and we are underway with the second half. 

42.00: After several resets the Cheetahs are penalised for an early shove at the scrum. The Stormers run the ball but De Jongh throws the ball into Joe Pietersen and it knocks on. 

45.00 The Stormers win a penalty from the scrum. Catrakilis kicks for touch and the line out. 

46.00: The TMO has a look at some foul play after a tackle. Henco Venter is yellow carded for a high tackle. 

48.00: The Stormers set up a line out after a penalty on the Cheetahs 5m line. They win the line out, use the maul and Damian de Allende slips around the maul and scores. TRY! 

49.00: Catrakilis adds the conversion. 

52.00: The Stormers scrum loses it’s footing but they are still awarded a penalty. Catrakilis kicks for touch. 

58.00: Yet another penalty from the scrum to the Stormers. Catrakilis kicks well downfield for touch. 

61.00: Sergeal Pietersen tries to break down the wing but gets caught. 

63.00: The Stormers work the ball into the Cheetahs 22. Vincent Koch drives over the line and scores his first Super Rugby TRY and the bonus point TRY!

64.00: Catrakilis adds the conversion. 

67.00: Juan de Jongh hands the ball to Sikhumbuzo Notshe and he races to the line and scores. TRY 

68.00: Kurt Coleman misses the conversion as Catrakilis has been replaced. 

74.00: The Cheetahs show patience and they get the ball to the Stormers 5m line. Carel Greef keeps his legs pumping and he goes over to score. TRY! 

76.00: Pietersen misses the conversion. 

79.00: The TMO is called in for a review on a high tackle on Kolbe. Reviews show it was a high tackle by Coenie van Wyk so the Stormers have a penalty. Stormers kick for touch. Alistair Vermaak comes on for 8 seconds of the math. 

80.00; The Stormers win the line out and run the ball. The Cheetahs win the ball and attack from deep. 

81.00: The Stormers turn the ball over but the whitstle goes. Thats it. 

The full time score is Stormers 42 (23) Cheetahs 12 (7)


Tries – S.Senatla 2, Allende, V.Koch, S.Notshe
Pen – D.Catrakilis 3
Con – D.Catrakilis 4
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – B. Prinsloo, C.Greef. 
Pen –
Con – J.Pietersen
Drop –
Cards -H.Venter (46th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jason Jaftha
Assistant Ref 2:Francois Pretorius
TMO :Deon van Blommestein



15. Cheslin Kolbe , 14. Seabelo Senatla , 13. Juan de Jongh (vice-captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Dillyn Leyds , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain) , 7. Siya Kolisi , 6. Nizaam Carr (50th cap for Stormers) , 5. Manuel Carizza , 4. Eben Etzebeth , 3. Vincent Koch , 2. Scarra Ntubeni , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: , 16. Bongi Mbonambi , 17. Alistair Vermaak , 18. Frans Malherbe , 19. Jean Kleyn , 20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Kurt Coleman , 23. Huw Jones


15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Henco Venter 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Mienie

Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 BG Uys, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20.Carel Greef, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Coenie van Wyk, 23 Rayno Benjamin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.