Highlanders vs Chiefs Super Rugby Preview

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Dunedin based Highlanders and the Hamilton based Chiefs the Highlanders have won two and the Chiefs four.

Overall the Highlanders have played the Chiefs 24 times in Super Rugby and the Highlanders have won 9 matches and lost 15.

That gives the Highlanders a record of winning 38% of their matches against the Chiefs with an average score of Highlanders 22 Chiefs 24.

This weekend the match will be played in Invercargill where the teams have met on three occasions before.

In those three Invercargill matches the Highlanders have lost all three matches making the Chiefs unbeaten by the Highlanders in the city.

The average score when the Highlanders play the Chiefs in Invercargill is Highlanders 13 Chiefs 22,

Overall the Highlanders have had home advantage over the Chiefs 11 times and they have only won four of these matches although the average score is Highlanders 25 Chiefs 24.

The Highlanders have played 13 matches so far this season and they have won 9 matches and lost four. At home the Highlanders have played 7 matches and won 5.

The Chiefs have played 13 matches as well and they too have won 9 matches. The Chiefs have played 6 matches away from home and they have won 3.

The Highlanders are in fifth place overall on 43 points while the Chiefs are one point above them on 44 points in fourth place. If the standings were on points alone without the conference system the Chiefs would be second and the Highlanders third.

In terms of selection for this week the Chiefs will again be without Sonny Bill Williams and Aaron Cruden is still out injured. Marty McKenzie to start at 10 and his brother at 15.

Prop Pauliasi Manu returns to the starting team along with lock Michael Fitzgerald who partners with veteran Ross Filipo who gets another run this week.

Maama Vaipulu will replace Liam Messam who has a left shoulder injury and in his absence Sam Cane will captain the side.

The Highlanders will be without Nasi Manu for this week due to a shoulder injury and is replaced by Dan Pryor. Lock Mark Reddish injured his hand in the match against the Force and is replaced by Tom Franklin with Joe Latta comes into the replacements bench as cover.

Richard Buckman returns to the midfield in place of Shaun Treeby. Jason Emery completes the back reserves on the bench for this match which is the Highlanders final home game for 2015.

The Bookies have given the Chiefs a 2 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The Highlanders have never beaten the Chiefs at Invercargill and they will also have to deal with the travel factor as they were in Perth last week and South Africa the week before that. The Chiefs should edge this by 3.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: Highlanders 22 Chiefs 24

Last six results
06 Mar 2015 Highlanders v Chiefs 20-17 Hamilton
27 Jun 2014 Highlanders v Chiefs 29-25 Dunedin
01 Mar 2014 Highlanders v Chiefs 19-21 Hamilton
22 Mar 2013 Highlanders v Chiefs 7-19 Hamilton
22 Feb 2013 Highlanders v Chiefs 27-41 Dunedin
29 Jun 2012 Highlanders v Chiefs 21-27 Dunedin

Highlanders overall record against the Chiefs
Played 24 , Wins 9 , Losses 15, Draws 0

Match No.101:Highlanders v Chiefs
Date : Saturday 30 May 2015
Venue : Rugby Park, Invercargill
Kick Off local: 19:35 local, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Shane McDermott
Assistant Ref 2:Mike Lash
TMO : Glenn Newman



1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Alex Ainley , 5. Tom Franklin , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. John Hardie , 8. Dan Pryor , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Richard Buckman , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (C)

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 18. Ross Geldenhuys , 19. Joe Latta , 20. Gareth Evans , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Marty Banks , 23. Jason Emery


1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Ross Filipo , 5. Michael Fitzgerald , 6. Maama Vaipulu , 7. Sam Cane (c) , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Augustine Pulu , 10. Marty McKenzie , 11. Bryce Heem , 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Charlie Ngatai , 14. Hosea Gear , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Quentin MacDonald , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Mitchell Graham , 19. Brian Alainu’uese , 20. Mitchell Crosswell , 21. Brad Weber , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Tim Nanai-Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.