Brumbies start prop Sio against Bulls in Canberra

The Brumbies have named Samoan giant Scott Sio in their Super Rugby team to play South African franchise the Bulls in Canberra on Friday.

Sio has been out of action for the last two months but made his return last weekend with 60-minute run with the Tuggeranong Vikings.

The Samoan prop has not featured for the Brumbies since round 9 in Auckland when he strained his medial ligament against the Blues.

But having come through the match with the Vikings unscathed, Sio has been handed the task of stabilising the Brumbies scrum against an experienced Bulls pack.

With Matt Toomua out for at least one more week with a syndesmosis strain, Robbie Coleman returns to the starting side to face the Bulls, bringing Nigel Ah Wong onto the bench in his place.

Prop JP Smith will drop from the match-day 23, providing an opportunity for up-and-comer Allan Alaalatoa to make an impact in the second half.

Sio said he was pleased to be back in the frame for selection.

“It was a good to have a hit out with the Vikings, I love to get out there with the club boys and we got a result. We made a call last Friday if everything was fine after 40 minutes I’d go another 20 and after all that I’ve come out 100 per cent,” Sio said.

“I don’t need to add too much, that last game against the Lions we saw the boys really change things up and get a result. My role will be just play as part of that team, to do my job at set-piece and just generally have a crack.

“The Brumbies face their third South African side in as many rounds on Friday having come back from the Republic two weeks ago. Fresh from a bye and a win in Johannesburg, the Brumbies will be full of confidence knowing the Finals are just three wins away.

Sio’s return leaves the injured list looking short, with just Toomua, Fotu Auelua, Lausii Taliauli and Sean Doyle remaining on the sidelines.

It’s been eight years since the Bulls have posted a win in Canberra, but the games are always tight. In 2009 just one point separated the two teams while in 2013 a penalty after the siren handed the Brumbies a narrow win.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore (c) , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Rory Arnold , 5. Sam Carter , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. David Pocock , 8. Ita Vaea , 9. Nic White , 10. Christian Lealiifano , 11. Joe Tomane , 12. Robbie Coleman , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements , 16. Josh Mann-Rea , 17. Allan Alaalatoa , 18. Ruan Smith , 19. Jordan Smiler , 20. Jarrad Butler , 21. Michael Dowsett , 22. Nigel Ah Wong , 23. James Dargaville

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.